quick update

18 May

So many of you have emailed and said that you pray for us.  I can’t tell you how blessed we are by that.  Thank you.

Several of you have asked questions that I WILL answer but it will have to be this weekend.  I love answering adoption questions (much more then homeschooling questions!).

Lots of you are curious about our family’s journey and our story before this blog’s beginning.  Thank you.  I’d love to share the whole story on this blog, and I will but it will have to wait until this weekend.

Several emails I’ve gotten wanting to know what their med. special need is, more on that too!  But, tonight just a five minute update for those who ask and pray.  Thank you!

So, the girls are wilting, wilting still.  I brought them to the hospital this morning.  Their ports were accessed and so there is a needle tube thing exposed, just for tonight.  The nurse and I high fived, remembering the last transfusion and the nightmare that it was to try to find a vein, on both girls.  The girls were lifeless and just laid there for the procedure.  I suspected their hemoglobin to be very low.  And it was.  Lainee was 6.7, Zinnia was 5.5.   The blood was ordered and we will go in for a transfusion tomorrow.  Now we know, or THEY know that the girls do not fit into their “28 day transfusion for thal. B patients” policy.  I insisted that their hemo. gets checked and transfused at 3 weeks and they agreed.  We left the hospital and my mom and I took 5 of the 7 to the dentist.  I knew that the smell coming from Lainee was not my imagination!  The girls were so brave and so low key from not feeling well.  My mom and I cried just watching the little lambs.  They were just precious.  Lainee Grace has a cavity or two on just about every tooth.  She will go to the hospital, under anesthesia for about 3 hours and the dentist will get to work.  They will need to pull her top two front teeth and another rotten tooth.  They are rotten, infected, sore and yucky!  Poor little thing.  I’m so happy for her to get a clean mouth and begin good oral hygiene.  She was scared today and cried a little but she is so proud of herself tonight, she made it through the exam, xrays, cleaning, all!  Zinnia has amazing discoloration on her six year molars, we are hoping that all of her new teeth don’t grow in yellow, like mustard yellow!  The dentist said it’s because of the thal.

lainee grace....oh poor little lainee grace! Watching the big sibs first was such a huge help!

Tomorrow will be another long doctor day… Lainee Grace will see an ENT because of suspected hearing loss, first thing tomorrow, then transfused.  They are excited to get their blood.  Excited to be able to swim again and bike and feel better.

If someone would have told me 3 months ago that I would be bringing my girls to the hospital for blood transfusions every three weeks  that they would be this weak, this little, this needy, i would have pulled out of the adoption.  I did not think we could have handled this.  Life seemed more then full before the girls came.  I am thankful that I didn’t know, I’m so thankful that God propelled us forward.  These girls are such a blessing.  Life is not easier now, but I am weaker and He is stronger.  Not easier but better.  I’m just wondering tonight how many more years their little bodies can go through with this.  God knows.  I rest in that and love them well each and EVERY day.

3 Responses to “quick update”

  1. sasha May 18, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    So proud of you Laura! You are such an encouragement to me! Only through Christ can we do this! Thank you for all the healthy reminders. It gives me so much hope and courage in HIM as we get closer to adopting our 11 year oldish new son! :)

  2. cristie english May 18, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Laura,
    Thank you for sharing all you are going through. It is such an encouragement to me and refocuses my heart and mind. We have a mighty God! Praise the Lord!!

  3. jean Mulvahill May 18, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Thank you for the update on your little girls! God Bless them both!! AND God Bless their Momma!!

    WE need to get our two into the dentist! Thanks for the reminder!!

    It is amazing what can be done WITH HIM!! I too could never do this by myself!

Leave a Reply

