Magnify

28 May

My heart has been broken over one of my children.

I have been MAGNIFYING this.  It’s consumed my prayers and my  quiet times with Jesus for a few days now.  THIS is wrong!

Today.

A new day, new mercies.

Today I’m choosing NOT to magnify the challenges that this child brings to nearly every minute of everyday.

Choosing to Magnify my Jesus, my creator and to trust Him with this challenge.  Knowing He has not prevented it.  Knowing that He uses whatever means He sees fit to draw me closer to Himself.  Knowing that the enemy is all about discouragement and destroying families, all about magnifying anything but JESUS.

I went to bed on EMPTY last night, broken hearted, exhausted and angry about this constant challenge.  I told Chris, “I’m done!”  and we knew to laugh, I can’t be done.  But then I think this morning, yes!  I can be done.  Just for today, one day at a time.  I will be done letting this hang like a storm cloud over every minute of today.  I must confess again today that I often want to do life EASY!  I want ease, I want comfort, peace with all the children, etc.

Maybe it’s because this is “memorial day weekend”.  Somewhere in the depths of my mind I put the phrases “memorial day weekend” and “off time, break, relaxation” together.  Maybe I feel entitled to this “off time, break, relaxation”.  Now that I think of it, I did the same thing a few days ago for my birthday…and then a few weeks ago for Mother’s day…entitled to “a break, off time, relaxation”.  I believe it’s time to fill my mind with new phrases to go along with those holidays.  Phrases like, “family time, opportunity to serve them, a little more tired then normal, JOY, etc.”  God is chiseling away new brain pathways for me.  I’m thankful.  His way is much more pleasant then mine. The bottom line:

I want on earth what is only reserved for HEAVEN.

Romans 5:3-5

We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance.  And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation.  And this hope will not lead to disappointment.  For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.

 

Thank you, Lord for your Holy Spirit, thank you for trials.  Lord, give us great endurance to run this race, to walk the narrow path.  We are trusting you for strength of character.  Thank you for dearly loving us.

Ever learning, Laurastill too cold to swim at the beach but the kids are so creative and still have fun!

 

I’m so thankful that the 2 new sisters are loving the beach as much as we do.

oh lainee grace, you bring great JOY to my days

my mom will hate these photos.  I guess it would be horrible to have a child in a cast at the beach all summer.

 

Noah was not feeling very good and headed back early to one of the golf carts.  The girls were glad he could babysit :)I love happy children playing outside!

2 Responses to “Magnify”

  1. Danae May 28, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Laura- I have followed you since your Journey to Me Journal but this is my first comment.
    Thank you for sharing this verse…I so needed to hear it! We leave in just two weeks to China for two little ones and life lately has me questioning my endurance for what is to come.
    I will hold this verse near to me now & while in China… I know I will need the reminder:) Blessings- Danae

  2. Jenny May 29, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    laura, your words are such an encouragement to me today! Thanks for sharing your heart. praying for you…

Leave a Reply

