19 Jul

yesterday we took a hike with our dog Cookie.

we ended up letting her swim in the lake, the girls had a blast watching her.

we decided to run home to get suited up and swim with Cookie.

Becsause Lainee and Zinnia are painstakingly slower then the rest of our gang I also have learned to

slow

down.

we slowly walked with cookie

through

the woods, a long-cut home.

These girls love the woods in the back of our house.

they especially like to take their shoes off and walk through the woods

It’s beautiful to me.

I remember walking through their orphanage and seeing all the little shoes lined up beside the crib-beds.  When they woke up little Ji Yao for us so we could take pictures of her for a blog friend who is adopting her they immediately put her shoes on, not wanting her feet to touch the ground.

When the girls first came they were so resistant to go bare foot.  So, I love this, I love their dirty little feet, getting toughened up.

As we walked we got to see a huge fresh raspberry patch.

just wild.

we stopped and ate.

Lainee had a “far away” look in her eyes as we slowly walked home to catch up with the group.

She gets this usually when I correct her, even if it’s super gentle and nice on my part.

She just stares off and shuts down.

I wonder what her mind is doing during this time.

So, when it happened yesterday I said, “Lain, Whatcha thinkin’ bout?”

She kept staring then it

broke.

She looked me in the eyes and said,

“just thinkin’ ’bout Jesus”

and smiled.

I did too.

"God is there, listening for all who pray, for all who pray and mean it. He does what is best for those who fear him-hears them call out, and saves them." Ps. 145:18-19

My friends,

“May the God of peace…make you complete in everything good so that you may do His will, working among us that which is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever and ever.”  Heb. 13:20

Press on today, holding His hands, fixing your eyes on Him, remembering that this world and all it’s trouble will one day pass away and we will see Him as He is, in glory, with Him for all eternity.  There He will wipe every tear away.

If we struggle today, remember that He uses struggles to draw us deeper with Him.  We will struggle today.  It’s a promise “in this world you will have trouble but HE has over come the world!”  So in our troubles, we HOPE for Heaven, with Jesus.

Leaning (on Him) Laura

2 Responses to “”

  1. jean Mulvahill July 19, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Beautiful post Laura!!

    I love sweet Lainee’s thoughts! Just thinkin about Jesus- how precious is that!

    Our girls also get that far away look in their eyes and shut down- I think it is from PTSD…
    They are also super slow and I here myself saying over and over again- hurry up- then I wonder maybe I should be more like them??

    You have great insight!
    Your the best!!

  2. Lynne July 19, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Laura – I’m in tears. I can’t tell you how much I needed your words today. So many serious struggles in my family. I cry out to God, trusting in His holy words.

    Precious Lainee’s thoughts made me sob. Through the eyes of a precious innocent child. I’m going to be like Lainee………just thinkin’ bout Jesus. God is so good.

    You have the most beautiful gift from God of your words, how you express your thoughts, and minister to all of us out here. Thank you for that.

    You all are always in my prayers. Sending love across the miles. You’re the greatest !

Leave a Reply

