23 Sep

look at these precious pictures.

these where my 4 “big” kids 6 years ago

8, 6, 4, and 3.

September 23, 2005 was the day that Chris and I flew to China to adopt Mimi.

She was 8 months old at the time.

What an adventure.

I look back at my journals and realize now that surely,

FAITH is the God-given middle name for this treasure.

Naomi Faith, “pleasant gift”.

I did not know at the time how many, many times I would need to remember the meaning of her name and the calling God had entrusted to us.

here we are 9-23-05 saying goodbye to the 4 kids, heading to the airport and off to Beijing

I was holding on to God in an intense way.

This was a HUGE leap of faith for me.

I had heard about China’s one child policy and both of us could not shake the notion that we could welcome 1 of God’s little orphans into our family.

However, I was terrified. I had just worked myself into a frazzled, fragile mess!

The evening of the 22nd, the night before leaving, I did not sleep.

Chris asked how he could help me.

I cried and cried and said what I needed most was for Jesus to walk through our bedroom door and announce with a huge smile,

“JUST KIDDING!  I just wanted to see if you would be willing to follow me to a hard place, I see your willing, now nevermind!”

The entire airplane ride my husband enjoyed movies and food.

I sat with my new ipod glued to my ears with my hands raised up, crying, begging to be brave, praising and reminding myself what kind of a God I follow and obey.

It was needed.

My fear was this:

I was terrified of “ruining”my family.

It seemed so risky,

what if she has a mental disorder?

my biggest fears where behavior issues, not medical.

I was scared because I searched and searched the scriptures the months before traveling

and could not find anywhere

that God would promise me bliss and happiness and ease if we followed Him to adopt this new child.

no, nowhere.

not there.

Instead I was always confronted with passages on walking by FAITH,

following Him,

dying to myself,

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you. Do not fear!”

and here we are totally sleep deprived, in the same clothes on the same day, in Beijing

The only promise that seemed to be constantly before me was just that

“I will be with you.”

Other wives in the group seemed so excited to get the babies, I needed to be around that.

It was go time, and I was getting excited too.

Stay tuned!

 

One Response to “”

  1. Carrie Lantry September 23, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I am crying because I am laughing so hard. This could be my same EXACT story of the night before and the flight over to adopt our Mazie Grace. At the time there was NOTHING to laugh about, but now looking back I was a MESS! I mean, the similarities are ridiculous, like i wrote it myself. You just brought me back 100% to the long journey to Ethiopia. Terrified and obediently hanging on to the one who sent us there. What a journey it has been and continues to be. Thanks for sharing, I always feel such a kindred spirit in you as I read! Blessings and love to you, Carrie

Leave a Reply

