lainee’s special day

16 Oct

Lainee she had a great day yesterday.

Lainee LOVES puzzles. I love to watch her do them, remembering that when she first came home in April she had never seen a puzzle, had no idea how to put it together. Lainee is great about sitting and doing puzzles alone, quietly. Isn't she cute in this photo, "OH!" as she recognizes a piece

I was proud of Zinnia.

I knew it would be hard for her.

lainee at 7 am. noah picked out a huge balloon for her, it sings the birthday song. She loved it! Later in the day Gigi brought it out side and it got away. (bummer, kind of, the song was more then annoying anyway!)

There were several times during the day that I could tell she was holding back

maybe tears

or words.

we spent the morning at an indoor bouncy-place. she loved it, they all did.

She held it together

and whispered to me several times

“can we do that on my birthday?  can you get me that on my birthday?”

This is all brand new to them.

i'm so happy for lainee, she has gotten so much stronger. I know all the swimming we did in the summer helped to strengthen their little arms and legs. She never would have been able to do this 6 months ago.

I’m pretty confident everything was even-steven in the orphanage.

I know it was.

They like to keep things “fair”.

the gifts were so exciting. little zinnia watched on and did great. Lainee enjoyed everything.

I wondered how Zinnia would react to Lainee’s special treatment.

It’s nice not to have a language barrier anymore.

To be able to talk it through and allow Lainee a special day,

to be able to train Zinnia to allow it.

Chris helped Lainee count her gifts.

I eyed him and whispered, “I think you will regret doing that…”

I’m thinking it may come back to haunt us, “Lainee, she got _ presents,, why didn’t I?”

Maybe not.

Lainee had a surprise visit from 2 very special adults in her life. This picture is of her teacher at school who stopped by with a hug and special pumpkin book. Also her sunday school teacher from church and special friend Elaine stopped by with a balloon and a bouquet of roses and lillies. She is so blessed and I know she has blessed other's lives. She's a ray of sunshine everywhere.

The day ended with family eating lainees favorite food!

Her one birthday request: “mom, can we please eat chinese food for my birthday?”

No problem, dear one!

we sang happy birthday and ate an ice cream cake

 

She got a bitty baby and matching robe-jammie-slipper set.

Nana made several baby clothes

This is one special child

we feel so thankful to be her parents

she’s surely a touch of God’s grace and goodness to our entire family.

Happy Sunday!

6 Responses to “lainee’s special day”

  1. Helen Stark October 16, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Hi Laura,
    Just a quick note again to tell you how much I love reading about your beautiful children! (All of them!) Thank you again and again for opening your hearts and home to these precious little ones.

    God Bless you and Chris!

    In His Great Love,

    Helen Stark (Kathleen Ueland’s mom :-)

  2. Jo October 16, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Dear Sweet Lainee,
    I want to say Happy Birthday to a Precious Girl! It looks like you had a Fun Day and that many, many people love you and want to Celebrate your life! The Life that Jesus gave you!

    Hi Zinnia! Soon YOUR Special Day will come and everyone will be Celebrating You! I am SO proud of how you were able to enjoy Lainee’s Birthday. You have been given a Gift, the Gift of Grace. You and Lainee have a Special place in my heart!

    With Much Love to you, Laura and to All of the treasures living in your Home! ~ Jo

  3. Holly Setran October 16, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Happy Birthday Lainee! What a gift from God you are. Praying many blessings on you and your family!

    Love,
    Holly Setran

  4. Donna October 17, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Happy birthday, Miss Lainee Grace!!!! LOVED hearing your announcement, Laura! Ahem. I hate to break it to you, but ya know that lovely family photo at the bouncy house? Ahem. To keep things truly in balance, uh, you need TWO sweeties at the front and center of the family photo. Just tellin’ ya. Zinnia – looks like you did an awesome job in helping your sister celebrate her special day. Yours is coming, sweet one!

  5. jean Mulvahill October 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Happy Birthday Lainee!! What a precious child she is!!

    Good job Zinnia- your day will come!!

    We have gotten a balloon like that and believe me- you were blessed to have it taken outside and set free- it is so annoying!!

    I agree with Donna- 2 is better than one!! Sorry! I am a bad influence!!

  6. Shelby October 17, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I love reading your blog, and i loved hearing your announcement!!

    I cannot wait to see what God will do!

    ~Shelby

Leave a Reply

