14 Nov

remember my two friends who are adopting Ethiopian boys who are friends in the same orphanage?

(Friends adopting friends!)

well,

On Tuesday night last week at adoption support group

one of the friends mentioned a third friend, to pray for a family for him.

well.

something

in me

sparked!

I never knew there was a third friend!

oh the thought of this boy, watching others go off

it

ate

me

up!

We prayed and fasted

I prayed all night for a family for the third boy

and by morning it seemed perfect.  To all of us.

Several phone calls and emails later

and we have approval!

This young man, from Makele Ethiopia

will one day be reunited with two of his friends here in our home town.(they will come home before him)

We all live just blocks apart!

all very close friends!

The other families will both be traveling in a few days for the first court hearing.

In adopting from Ethiopia you have to travel twice.

We got to each talk with the Ethiopian man who runs the orphan home with his wife on the phone Saturday morning

It was very very special to get to do this!

I have actually met him before at an event a year before.

I will never forget hearing him say, “ok, my dear!!  This is so good.  We have been very very concerned about the boy.  God is so good to these children, to bring them to Wheaton together.”

So i will send photos of our family along with one of my friends.

She will give them to this man, Gabe, the orphanage director, and he will give them to the boy when the time is right.

It is so sweet.

We are rejoicing and so very excited.

my noah has asked for about 3 years now for a black little brother from Africa.

The couple days of waiting and praying my Noah, HE WAS BEGGING!

I no longer have to buy Noah birthday or Christmas presents for several years :) according to his pleadings!

They are all pretty “pumped up” around here.

The little girls don’t know yet.  We aren’t hiding it from them, just didn’t get a chance to yet, I guess.

We feel so differently about this adoption.  I’m not scared!  I’m not worried.

Just the opposite, I’m humbled that God would entrust such a gift to us.

This feels like a treat!

While praying I began calling him Luke.

Then I found out he wants to be a doctor when he grows up.

So, I told Gabe(Ethiopian dircctor)  and he said, “then we will begin to call the boy Luke!”

Luke Adhanom Jones

He has been praying for a family.

In extreme poverty his mother died in child birth and his father died trying to cross the red sea to get to some Arab land to look for work.  Alone.

He was taken in to care of the this orpanage 5 years ago.

We have been praying with open hearts for God to direct us to our next child.

Gabe in Ethiopia has been praying

CHI his placing agency has been praying

And to us it feels like a present!

A special surprise gift.

I can’t wait for him to hear that it’s with us, here, near his friends.

May he praise God and know His deep love and care and concern for him.

We aren’t sure of his age but we think around 9.5.

I wish I could show you his picture but our agency told me it wasn’t allowed!

yet

so, imagine with me.

A precious, curious, bright boy with a handsome unique Ethiopian look.

I had to contact our homestudy agency to say, WAIT!  u-turn!

We are heading to Ethiopia!

They love the story and are excited with us.

Children are a blessing from the Lord, a very great reward.  It’s true!  A very great reward.

 

So… I know what you are thinking….are there other friends?

because I keep getting asked that!

YES!

All over the world there are friends in orphanages, older children who would love to come home with a friend.

So if you can’t adopt 2 how about grab a friend and adopt friends?

At least it’s something we can all pray about or for.

 

Much to pray about, all over the place isn’t there?

Lord God, with boldness I come before your throne and declare that I will stand in the gap on behalf of my children until the day of salvation. (EZEKIEL 22:30)

Laura

9 Responses to “”

  1. Danae November 14, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    SOO very happy for you and LUKE! Congratulations!

  2. jamesfamily7 November 15, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Smiling over here in Naperville :) The kids guessed you were adopting from Ethiopia. How cool it that for God to bring all the boys to the same area. We love it! I wish Luke could know that when Sasha and Mike are there that he too has a family waiting for him.

  3. John Vandervelde November 15, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Love this post sis! We’re all so excited. You will now have to change your blog name to EIGHT from Heaven!!

  4. Jo November 16, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Luke and Laura! Like on General Hospital! KIDDING!! I am so happy that Luke gets to come Home to a Big brother who has longed for him! Three little sisters to keep him in line! :D Yay for your beautiful family!

  5. KT November 16, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    What a miracle! You are an inspiration to me.

  6. Shelby November 19, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Beyond exciting:)

  7. Mary Carlson November 20, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Love you friend!!!

  8. jean Mulvahill November 21, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Yay!! I am so excited for you! Love it when God leads us right where he want us- sounds like that is exactly what he did for you!!

    Love the name Luke! It’s awesome!! Can’t wait to see his picture!!

    Blessings on your journey!!

    ((HUGS))

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Orphans No Longer « The James Journal - February 11, 2012

    […] a mom and dad. God has called Laura and Chris to be his parents. They share their story in their blog Laura and her son Noah. I saw the joy in Samuel’s eyes as he recognized Laura as his friend […]

Leave a Reply

