what goes on around here

9 Jan

new year’s resolution for me?

I’m gonna really try to cook at least 3 meals a week.

Not frozen peas, nuggets and fries

Not hot dogs and mac-n-cheese

No more chicken breasts and a bottle of bar-b-que sauce.

you know what i mean.

It’s time I start feeding my family better food.

I sometimes feel like I’m still in shock from adding 2 new children

but it’s almost been a year!

so…

It’s been one week, and they love it.

Even the new girls love casseroles!

Also, new rules in their morning routine!

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!!

we are organized 

don't ask! no, kidding: dentist said, "I doubt she has brushed the top, ever!" OOPS

mimi's list

and I must say

we are bribing

and you know what?

things are going a whole lot better around here in the morning!

Are you wondering about the order of things?

Well, you have not seen how slow my girls eat, or how much.

So, if you did, you would understand that we can’t save anything to be done after eating.

In other news:

the girls started gynmastics.

Mimi’s done it before, she’s a natural!

Luckily there is a beginner class at the same time for the 2 new girls.

They are…not so natural :)

oh

oh boy!

Lainee is LOVING violin.

Zinnia, not so much.

Lainee is cruising along.

and if she gets disciplined, or scolded I’ll often hear her practicing her violin.

my first graders zinnia and mimi

gigi reading history

I think i’ll leave you with a little video,

Lainee playing her violin!

It’s a bit squeaky but I’m so very proud of her!

you Suzuki people out there  She’s just tried the “peanut butter” variation

She’s thriving and loving her violin.

What a gift she is to our family.

5 Responses to “what goes on around here”

  1. Peg Jones January 9, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Oh Laura, I love reading your comments. What a special person you are, (and Chris, too!) and we love you ALL!

    Love, Mom J.

  2. KT January 9, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    Great update! I love seeing Lainee playing her violin. The look on her face is priceless.

    My aunt told me about electric pressure cookers and I bought one. Now I own three! They have revolutionized how fast and nutritous our meals are. It is the first kitchen gadget that truly saves time and enhances our lives. I’d take it over the microwave any day. If you’d like to know where I got mine and the brand I prefer, please let me know. I don’t have any vested interest other than to share how great they are and how much I love my pressure cookers. I have three so I can cook for my family and daycare and do meat, soups and veggies at the same time.

  3. Tobi Wright January 10, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    Hi Laura,
    I am thankful for your organizational tips! We are beginning the process of adopting 2 from Ethiopia. I have great 4 bio kids and I think I’m fairly organized but also know that I’ll need to be at the top of my game when the little ones join us :) I’m happy for you & your big and beautiful family. Love your heart! Tobi

  4. nicole January 10, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    your bff with dinner is the crock pot.
    every night. in by noon and you are DONE!
    just add veggies and fruit and you r a hero.
    love the posts!

  5. Jennifer January 11, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    I LOVE it! So glad to know we aren’t the only ones that have resorted to picture techniques. We even have pictures that remind our youngest to put the tooth brush back in the holder! And flush the toilet. And wash hands. :)
    I agree with Nicole – the crockpot is my bff appliance. And I have the best crockpot recipe cookbook. Let me know if you want the name of it.

Leave a Reply

