sisters

14 Jan

we woke up to a winter wonderland!

 

finally! time for sledding!

 

a perfect morning for a nice hot bowl of ..... ramen noodles!

 

mimi and zinnia

 

People ask, “how do you do it?”

I’m not ever really sure what they are meaning.

How do we meet everyone’s needs?

How do we still have joy?

How do i remain sane?

I’m not sure.

And I don’t ask.

But as I have thought about it the last few days

and prayed

I realize how we “do it”

and how I hope and pray we continue to “do it”

I think it’s having this mind set:

not, what if we ruin our family

but, THIS IS NOT MY FAMILY TO RUIN

not, what if it’s “too much” and I can’t handle it, what if I’m exhausted and miserable?

but, THIS IS NOT MY LIFE TO HOLD ON TO.

It’s been having the mindset that

THIS IS NOT OUR LIFE TO LIVE.

My life is not something to hold on to

I exist because of Christ, for God and His glory.

I truly feel that to live is to CLING TO CHRIST

and I truly believe that to DIE IS GAIN

I truly believe that this life is so temporary.

I truly believe that God does not involve my family and me in this grand global adoption mission, bringing all nations to Himself through it, because He needs us.

It’s because HE LOVES US!

When my eyes are down I magnify the hardness.  I get knit-picky with my kids, I get worried about if my new girls will ever catch up.  I worry.  I get anxious.  I get scared.  I get this phrase that runs through my head, ” I JUST WANT TO DO LIFE EASY!!!”

It’s a dangerous place for me to stand.

So, I don’t.

Instead I bend low, lower still!

we memorize Phillipians 2

and

I tell myself, my friends, my children everyday:

(are you sick of hearing it?)

“THIS IS NOT OUR HOME!  WE ARE NOT HOME YET!”

I cannot want on this earth, in this life

what is only reserved for heaven,

Perfection!

Friday night Chick-Flick.  Gigi’s life is so blessed by these rewards.  SISTERS

Thank you, Jesus.

2 Responses to “sisters”

  1. sasha January 14, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Thank you Laura!!! Amen!!!!!
    You are a gift!

  2. Tobi Wright January 14, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    I love this one. I’m starring and saving it to read again and again! We are just beginning our process to adopt 2 from Ethiopia. We have 4 bio kids and can’t wait to begin the next adventure with 2 more treasures!

Leave a Reply

