30 Jan

I have a little phrase that I’ve said to Lainee and Zinnia over and over since they have come home.

It happens when I hug them, sometimes several times a day.

Lately, I have noticed that I say it more to Lainee then to Zinnia.

I think Lainee needs to hear it, and reminds me to say it.

“YOU BELONG TO ME!”

When they could hardly speak any English I used their dolls, or stuffed animals so they could understand…

I’d show them that the toy was special to them ONLY, that the toy “belongs to you”.

After church last night I ran to the choir room to pick up the little girls from choir practice.

Lainee walked behind with me.

She said, “Ma, can I have a hug?”

“Sure Lainee!” I said as I zipped up her coat.

“Ma?  I belong to you?”

“Yes!  YOu beLONG to me!!!!”  I squeezed extra tight.

“Why?”  she giggled

“Because God gave you to me!” (I need to go through this with her at least once a day).

But then, something new happened:

“Ma, I mean, Why you pick me????”

Oh, my stomach flopped.

“Lainee, GOD picked you for me, God told me to adopt you.”

She moaned and hugged tighter and said,

“OH Mom!  Thank you so much adopting me.  I love you mom.”

She loves being loved and part of a family!

Thank you God for picking Lainee Grace Jones for me.

 

 

4 Responses to “”

  1. Carolyn January 30, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Makes me want to cry, that is so sweet!

  2. Mrs Clarinda James January 30, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Brings tears to my eyes. What a beautiful affirmation of God’s leading. Did you get Hope’s reply to your comment? I don’t know how WordPress works to know if you saw her comment back to you. She is happy to share her power point:)

  3. Tobi Wright January 31, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    Laura, We are just beginning the process of adopting 2 from Ethiopia but I am taking notes especially on how to communicate the beauty of adoption to them. Thank you! Tobi Wright

  4. KT February 2, 2012 at 2:34 am #

    How utterly sweet! I’ve told my daughter our story many times now, and as her testimony and understanding of God and Jesus grows, she gets more and more excited when I tell her how obviously God spoke to me and gave her to me. I love pointing out to her examples of how our prayers are answered.

Leave a Reply

