back to reality! home again

28 Feb

beginning of our trip

arrival ~ beautiful mountains. we exited the plane outside

a great few days of skiing (my all time favorite thing to do!)

gigi, noah, christopher.....-3 degrees, burrrrrr

super nana stayed back with the 3 girls.

It turns out, both girls needed a transfusion when we were gone!  I’m concerned that their levels drop so quickly, only 2 weeks.  I’m so thankful that my mom could do this.  we texted back and forth with photos during their hospital stay.  We were eating lunch on the mountain and they were eating at the hospital!  I love technology in this way.

Zinnnia at the hospital - photo nana texted to us

photo I texted to the hospital- lunch on the mountain

Mimi has been skiing since she was 3, and she’s a great skiier.  But….

It was a very nice break for Chris and me, wonderful to connect with the big kids, we missed the little girls and yet really enjoyed a few days apart.  The girls had a program at their school when we were gone, I hated to miss it.  Mimi and Zinnia had parts, my mom recorded some of it.  The girls sang twila Paris’ song, “my lips with praise you….”  it’s so sweet to hear their little voices.

Here they are getting ready to leave for their show at school….

lainee, zinnia and mimi for school program "my lips will praise you...."

wow.  I just realized zinnia has lainee’s dress on…a little short!  I forgot to ask why mimi is wearing her tap shoes…hum

We love to eat a Beau J*’s Pizza when we ski.  They even have a gluten free pizza.  it’s delicious!

oh how wonderful!

I’m so thankful that no one got hurt.  Tennis season starts next week for Christopher!  Noah and Gigi are in the middle of basket ball and Jonah tennis too!

We had a great adoption discussion with 2 older men on the gondola one day.  They didn’t know that there is such a need for families to adopt the 147 million orphans in the world today.  They wondered if we were mormon!  Nope, not trusting in our “works” to get us into heaven.  Christian, thankful that in spite of all our ugly sin and inadequacy and mistakes God has adopted us into his family and looks on us with a smile, seeing the blood of Jesus, the perfect sacrifice for our sins and forgives us by his grace.  So, one of the men said, “why would you do this, then, if you already have 4 “of your own” ?”  So, we answered and the kids had to smile and giggle at me, I’m sure….(mom always says….)

yes, of course you know how I ended that conversation, don’t you?

“Well, we believe that this life is not all that there is for us, we are awaiting an eternal life in heaven with God.  So we take risks and obey what we think God has told us because we really believe that….”

THIS IS NOT OUR HOME!  WE ARE NOT HOME, YET!

Press on my friends!

2 Responses to “back to reality! home again”

  1. umiamigrad February 28, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    Yes! A great question: Why do we do this? We must look so strange/odd to those around us. But that is the point. God has called us to live a RADICAL life. One that doesn’t look like the world. I’m so glad that they asked you this question and that you were able to articulate such a wonderful answer.

  2. Sarah Pollock February 28, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Amen Sweet Sister!!! “All I know is I’m not home yet, this is NOT where I belong. Take this world but give me Jesus…!!”
    Thank you, Jesus, for all you have done to make a way for us to be home with you someday. Help us to live each moment with ETERNITY in mind. Give us joy as we obey you.

Leave a Reply

