knowing noah

18 May

wow.  we had such an amazing thing happen this week!

I know that several of you have children with severe health issues and this in no way compare to that but…

Let me give you a little background for those of you who don’t know my Noah.

Noah came into the world with the umbilical cord wrapped around his little head.

He was a very cranky baby!  When he was 5 months old I got pregnant with Gigi.

He was a late walker and I just remember him hanging on the back of my huge maternity sweaters smearing his snot onto my backside.  Poor guy.  He really was miserable much of the time.

Sensory integration diagnosis.  dyslexic diagnosis.  late walker, Occupational therapy, late talker, Speech therapy.  He has a genius IQ but struggles so with language arts.

If something happens physically to one of our kids, it’s always noah!

He lives life rough and has broken bones and scars to prove it.

Tubes in his ears 3xs.  The first time was as toddler.

Now I must say, Noah, His heart could not be any bigger.

Especially for the down and out or anyone needing help.  God has made him very unique and perfect, just like God wants Him.

God has used Noah in so many ways.  He has drawn me closer through the years as I have poured my heart out over him.  I remember driving home from OT with Noah as a 3 year old.  He seemed so overwhelming, it was so busy and I felt so sad.  It was a perfectly sunny day but as I started to cry out and tears fell from my eyes it started to just down pour out side.  It was amazing as I felt like God whispered to me, “I’m crying with you.” I will never forget that.

So, we had to have his last pair of tubes surgically removed last April because even after 7 years they never fell out.  Recovery and hole healing should have taken 2-4 weeks.  We waited and waited and waited and revisited and revisited and revisited for checks and Noah never complained but continued to faithfully wear his ear plug and keep track of the thing.  6 months ago we had the holes patched again and waited and waited.  We know all the wonderful people at the ENT, everyone was hoping with us.  However, each time we checked one ear continued to not heal.  2months ago the ENT referred us to a surgeon who would remove some skin on Noah’s neck (he’s also had plastic surgery twice to remove a large birth mark around the same area) and place it in the ear to patch the hole.

So, Thursday was our appointment with this surgeon.  In the truck on the way to the hospital we again prayed for healing, like the two of us alway do.  Noah had had a camp physical 6 days before and we knew the hole was still there and explained to the family practice doctor that it has been there for a year and that we were doing surgery, etc.

I prayed with Noah, “God reach in and heal him!  Please we pray that we could avoid surgery again.  God, Noah has dealt with ear issues for 11 years.  We ask for a healing touch, God we pray that the surgeon would not even be able to see the hole, that you would do a miracle.”

After an hour wait, I ALMOST left, but finally we were seen.  The young doctor looked inside the hole ear first.  He said, “okay buddy, this one looks great now let’s look in the ear that wont heal”.

Noah said, “this is my ear that won’t heal”

The doctor said, “not anymore.  It’s healed.”

I wish you all could have seen my Noah’s face!!!!!

Me?  My arms were straight up in the air in honor of my God.  My knees?  They were on the tile floor.

I was shaking.  I was actually sobbing! “thank you, Jesus!  Thank you, Jesus!”

I said over and over to the doctor, “thank you so much!”  And he said, “I didn’t do anything!  But I do know that I am not operating on your son!”

I’m so thankful for this.

You all, it was so special.  It is so special.

I know we don’t deserve this touch from God.  I know and understand that God is most concerned about healing our hearts and not our physical bodies.  I know It was His grace.  I honestly felt His smile down upon us.

We had ordered a new bigger earplug that was waiting for us as we checked out, we had already paid for it so we grabbed the box and left the office.

“Noah, we will see you in a year!”  wow.

I told Noah to always keep that ear plug, as a reminder of God’s gracious touch.

We were so excited to tell the family.

Dad said in the Tennessee accent that he can slide back into at a moment’s notice,

“that thang is goin on the Christmas tree!”

Don’t stop praying!

I will ascribe to You glory and strength, O Lord.

I will ascribe to You the glory due Your name and worship you, Lord, in the beauty of holiness.  Psalm 29:1-2

6 Responses to “knowing noah”

  1. Auntie Sarah May 18, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    WOO-HOO!! This is the BEST news!!! Praise the Lord for His healing touch and His personal love and care for sweet Noah Charlie. Hooray for no earplugs at the beach this summer!!! AMAZING!! Thank you Lord, for a very big faith-building answer to Noah’s prayer.!!!

  2. Beckie Johnson May 18, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    Praise to Jesus!

  3. katie wilson May 18, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    When you live a life of stepping out in faith in risky ways, you get to see the Lord do miraculous things! What a thrilling way to live! We praise you, Jesus!

  4. praiseproclaimer May 19, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Praise the Lord! So thankful to hear this wonderful news! I can just hear Chris… so funny. Thanks for sharing this. It is a blessing!

  5. Carrie Lantry May 19, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    So awesome to hear! I am also so thankful for you remembering what it was like when he was little, it gives me hope knowing you made it through those years as I am smack dab right in the middle of them now- so wonderful and so trying. So grateful for your perspective, it helps pull me up. :o)

  6. Tobi Wright May 21, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Thanks Laura! I’m in tears now and praising God with you & Noah! I’ve been praying on behalf of my 16 year old, Aaron. Hoping and praying that God will get through to our boy. Thank you for the encouragement to keep praying!

Leave a Reply

