2 Jun

Anyone still out there~

Hi!

too much happening around here!  How to catch up?

girls eating pancakes on paper plates, for dinner, in the front yard! Chris and I ran out and had dinner out with some friends~ happy kids and happy parents!

I had a birthday, and it wasn’t a good day, or actually got worse each passing hour!

my mom made me an amazing gf choc. cake and we got to enjoy that a few days later over memorial day weekend. This is my thought during this photo, “Hokey Petes! Have i really been alive all those years??? Each candle represents a year? Wow. I can’t believe I’m almost 30 (he he he)! Zinnia is in shock! We are gonna burn this house down!”

thank you very much! and…

fan the smoke detectors!

adopting is hard, it is a beautiful thing, but oh so refining at times. (hard is good, hard is good, hard is good!!!)

temper tantrums and crying.  ugh.  i guess it’s extra hard when it’s mom’s birthday. :(

So, should I blog the birthday story?

I will

but I wanted to share something that we learned in homeschool last week…

foxes DO NOT care for Rabbit feet.

No.  Seriously this one’s for my Jonah…

He’s a runner

He runs everyday!

go jonah! the girls and I got to walk down the street from our house to watch the race this morning.

3 very cute squirrelly girlies at the finish to congratulate Jonah and steal a free “runner’s” banana.  mimi is forever imagining and creative…notice her jacket, this morning it became our pet cat!  Lainee and Zinnia stand in awe of her mind…I guess we all do!

He maps out routes, times himself and sleeps like a brick because of it.

he ran a road race today and got 9th overall, we are talking like hundreds and hundreds of people!  He won his age group!  Pretty cool.  He’s got a great heart and it was good to see that today.  Before he ran we prayed, “God, Jonah runs for your glory only.  May others see him and praise the way you made him, praise you God.”  That can be big stuff for a 13 year old who’s fast, to give God the credit, etc.

well,

The computer thingy didn’t register his time or several others.  We know how he finished, but it was not “official”.  Awards were not handed out because of it, it’s still kind of up in the air, I guess.  They emailed to say they would mail rewards based off of times they could gather.  Blah blah…

when we walked away Jonah said, “I’m so disappointed that that happened to me, but God allowed that and He knows.”  Jonah doesn’t talk much, so when he does, we listen! It ended good. He said, “I trust God.”  And I do too.  He knows what we need, what our kids need.  He’s sovereign over EVERYTHING.

God’s will was done.  He did not want Jonah standing on the stage gettting a reward today.  He plan was better.  He wanted a heart to grow, not a head,

I guess. But, as his mom, i just gotta tell you how proud I was of his HEART, to GOD be the glory.

And then, best for me was an answer to prayer concerning our next adoption.

You see, I fell asleep last night after telling Chris, “We are NOT doing this!  We are NOT bringing home another child, another BODY!  No more clothes to wash or things to keep track of!  They are EVERYWHERE!!  We are just NOT cut out for this!!!  Make it go away!  I just want to stop caring!  Just make it all go away….” (boo hoo hoo. etc)  I do that before every adoption.  It always feels scary and always feels like “too much”. always!

I said, “God you are going to have to please confirm this adoption.  I’m running on empty and I feel like I haven’t heard from you about Luke lately!”

So,

at the race today an African American boy came up to Jonah with a HUGE beautiful smile and said, “great race!  You are so fast!  I was behind you for a while then you took off!  I think you got first in the 13s age group and I got second!”  His english was perfect so I did n’t suspect he was from Africa,really.  But then we asked his name and it sounded African, hum.  We chatted on and enjoyed this young man,s charming personality and friendliness.

Then, Lainee Grace enters.

She stuck one finger in his face and one hand on her hip and declared (loudly) “WE DOPPING LUKE, HE LOOK LIKE-A YOU!”  Sweet boy says, ” excuse me, what did she say?”

Jonah then told him that we are adopting a boy named Luke from Ethiopia.  And cutie African boy say, “AWESOME!!  I’m 13 now but I was adopted from Ethiopia when I was 8!”

“WHAT???”  I was super dramatic and started to cry ( a little bit).  “Okay, wait.  YOU are adopted from Ethiopia 5 years ago?”

“Yes!  I lived in Addis!”  I said, “I’m so sorry I’m all weepy!”  And he said, “don’t be sorry at all.” ( oh so sweet).

You all, it was just what I needed.  His excitement, sweet smile and friendliness, his encouragement that we are doing something “awesome” was such a gift.  Once again, my heart was stirred!!  Does your heart ever need some stirring that only God can do??

Well,

I shook his hand,

took his picture with my Jonah

got his phone number.

and remembered why we’re doin’ what we are doin’

This is not our home, my friends!!  We press on~

Only one life, Twill soon be past~ Only what’s done for Christ will last~

10 Responses to “”

  1. cristie english June 3, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    Happy Birthday dear Laura! May the Lord continue to bless you. Cristie

  2. Big Lainee June 3, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    Happy Birthday, sweet friend. I am going to celebrate your Birthday when we can both grab a coffee together. Praying that you have wonderful summer.
    Much love, Elaine

  3. Tobi Wright June 3, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    Oh my, Laura! Guess what I’ve been needing to hear! I’ve been worried about adopting older children (also Ethiopia). We are hoping for 1 or 2, up to 7 years, 11 months. To know this boy was 8 when adopted and is now adjusted and wonderful, does my heart good. Also knowing that you had a melt down over another adoption helps ;) You are so faithful to tell us your hard stuff and your good stuff and all of it gives us courage. It reminds us that we are “normal” and that God is always faithful! Thank You!

  4. k June 3, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    It’s not an easy road, sometimes, is it? You are welcome to call me any time. I’d love to talk to you. Did I ever email you my phone number?

  5. Alexandra Howard June 3, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    I so enjoy reading your posts! You are a great encouragement to me. We have three children right now, but are hoping for God to send us many more in whatever way He sees fit. But somedays I get really overwhelmed about the idea of raising a large family and homeschooling and life…….Thank you for being real and reminding me that I can truly “do all things through Christ who gives me strength!” I know that when we follow His will instead of trying to get our will, He blesses us and we get to experience great things, but it is encouraging to see that others falter at times but are refined in the process! Thanks!

  6. Sherri June 4, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    You bless my heart! Lately, it’s been a doubting, fearing heart. (Why did we do this, we can’t do this right, we don’t know what we’re doing and on and on). It’s so good to read that you have doubts too and then to read your words….on why we are here. I heard TWO sermons on FAITH today and I realize that I only need to believe what our mighty God can do!

  7. Jo Moseley June 4, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    I can’t wait to see your blog header with your beautiful black son with his siblings! Talk about getting an answer from God! I’m so happy that He brought that young man to meet your family at the race. I hope you can get to meet his family. That boy could be a huge help for Luke in the future. : )
    Happy Birthday, Laura! Your sweet Mom made such a lovely cake for you! (SHE is so pretty!) 30, huh? ; )
    Congratulations to Jonah!! You have your heart in the right place, Jonah! YOU know and your Mom knows and God knows, how you placed in that race! Great job! Do you see marathons, triathalons in your future? Go for it!
    Have a Blessed week and I’ll be praying for less tears and temper tantrums.
    Love, Jo

  8. Carrie June 4, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    yea God!!!! :o)

  9. Sonia June 4, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Must.Have.Coffee.Together.Soon. Seriously my friend, we just need to meet you and I. We can sit and cry and laugh and just UNDERSTAND each other. We gotta make that happen. Don’t you need a Disney vacation soon? I’ll meet you there. :)

  10. anna lokey June 5, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    Hi Laura! I am here because ^^^^ Sonia sent me. :) We are adopting a little boy from Guangzhou and hope to be traveling in July. I am trying to meet other families from the group. Our guy just turned 6 in April. We have four girls (our youngest also from China) and he falls right in the middle. Nice to “meet” you!

    Love the blog post as well. So happy that you are taking the plunge again! You SO hit the nail on the head. As much as our hearts have been changed it still doesn’t make it any easier to take that leap. Our flesh still hurts and complains. ;) So glad the Lord confirmed things for you. He is just so sweet! :)

Leave a Reply

