thanks for your prayers

27 Jun

hello friends and family. ( I’m sorry that i’m not personally emailing or calling those of you that are so dear to us.)

last night I decided to post a message today saying that our blog will be on hold for the summer.

HOWEVER~

that is not the case.

I had an amazing time in the word late last night and this morning. God prepared me for the news I would hear.

 

As I prayed with God this morning,

I felt so lead to pray for my Luke.  I did, and prayed for a court date.

We have been told that we would most likely travel after the rainy season when the courts there are closed for 10 weeks.

But today, at 11:30

We learned that we received a court date, it is July 10th.

Chris and I will travel to Ethiopia on July 4th.  In just one week.

My parents will be staying with my kids, at the beach.

It feels unreal, as Chris told me today.  just unreal.

I was scheduled to have double jaw surgery on July 11.  So that will not be happening.  It is postponed to August 8th.

However, our schedules were cleared for the holiday and surgery…

So, we trust God’s perfect timing and my busy mind shifts to thoughts of a

very brave young man of 10, across the world,

Learning today that in one week he will meet his American family, that he will soon be reunited with his buddies who were adopted by our friends.

(This is the 1st of 2 trips for Ethiopian adoptions.  The second trip will follow in 6-8 weeks or so.  We plan to have Chris travel alone on the second trip.  I have to go with him this trip.)

The director of his orphan home, his papa really, told me that he prays everyday for the process to speed along for his new family to come.

I’m reminded again tonight that God hears the orphan’s prayer, the innocent prayer of his children.

I’m reminded of what’s really important in this life.

 

Please, please pray for the jones family when you think of us.

peace and good children being left behind with my parents.

I’ll keep you updated.

thanks

 

13 Responses to “thanks for your prayers”

  1. Jo Moseley June 27, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    One week! Yikes! He sure knows how to surprise us, huh?! I have been thinking about you all for the past week or so and prayed that all was well. And, selfishly..I am happy that you aren’t putting your blog on hold for the summer! I would really miss you. Now I know how things are going and what I need to focus my prayers on! Oh, I look forward to seeing some posts about sweet Luke! Praying for travel safety for You & Chris. That Luke will be prepared to meet you and that his heart will be ready to accept a Mommy and Daddy. Also praying for your children staying at home and for your parents as they care for them. I just love you all so much! Thankful, that He brought us together through our mutual love for orphans. Hugs ~ Jo

  2. Kathleen June 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Laura that is so exciting! Our family will be praying for you all. Matthew was so excited for Noah when I told him. :) Miss seeing u and looking forward to more posts!!

  3. k June 27, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Wow! That’s even less notice than I had! I hope your trip goes well and your first meeting with your son all that you hope it will be. My very, very best friend is from Ethiopia. The food is sooo good!

  4. marsha c June 27, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    God always comes through in His perfect timing! May you both have a wonderful safe journey.

  5. Carrie Lantry June 27, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    That is exactly what happened to us, we had one weeks notice before we headed to Ethiopia to get our Mazie Grace. Wow, what a whirlwind that was. We will be praying. So excited for Luke, just one week until he knows a mama’s love and feels Gods love wrapping him up in your arms, yeah!!!! Oh you will love Ethiopia, it is going to break your heart into a million pieces, but in the best way ever. Sending you our love and prayers!

  6. Tobi Wright June 27, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Amazing, wonderful news! I’m praying what you’ve asked. So very exciting!

  7. jamesfamily7 June 27, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    WoW! I’m excited for you both and will be praying for these whirlwind days of preparation and for the day you meet Luke. And praying for your children too.

  8. sasha June 28, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    I Can’t wait to tell Joseph when he wakes up!! He is such a sweet prayer warrior and will be so excited that Luke is COMING!! Praying for you! The trip is so amazing… such a beautiful place. I can’t for you to meet Luke and the Wilson kids. :)

  9. Chanda Slenk June 28, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    Praying for you Jones Family!

  10. Cindy Pratt June 28, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Hi Laura, it is always good for me to read your blog as I am challenged to have greater faith! I’m excited for you to have this court date and for the process to be moving along. I’ll pray for safe travels, a smooth court date, and continued joy as you all prepare for Luke to join your family. Also, I will pray for your jaw surgery as I’ve been down that road–I had jaw surgery (just upper jaw) 12 years ago, but remember it pretty clearly. It is a tough recovery, but worth it in the end!
    Many blessings,
    Cindy Pratt

  11. nicole June 28, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    safe travels my friend! prayin for you and the family.

  12. jean Mulvahill June 30, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Just catching up and WOW!! Big things are happening!! So excited for you to go to Ethiopia!! and then 6-8 weeks later your boy will come home!! God is so good!!

    I love your comment about the children reading and the patience it takes… You are so so so right. I have to go straight into prayer (while they are reading) to make it thru the reading session. And when we are done I would like to hit my head against a wall- whew!
    It’s painfully slow and yes we stop at every word and have to explain it!

    Do you girls have any iron overload?? Do they do Chelation too?

    Praying for you Ethiopia adventure and your sweet boy!!

  13. Sherri June 30, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    OH WOW!! I haven’t been keeping up with your blog! SO excited for you and for your family and most especially for that sweet, sweet boy who is waiting on you!! We have two beautiful grandchildren from Ethiopia and several friends with children from there. Oh so wonderful that ANOTHER child will have a family. May God give you safety, wisdom, energy and most of all, fill your hearts with HIS perfect LOVE for your son and for everyone you meet. Love to you!!

Leave a Reply

