hello from Addis

8 Jul

We arrived safe and sound.

just taking off for ethiopia. It was wonderful sitting and doing NOTHING for 13 hours. Together. “I cannot believe we are doing this!” “God has been so faithful”. “Lord, help us” “protect our kids at home.” “It’s go time!”

2:00 am to our bodies but “good morning” in Addis.

a view from our hotel room in Addis.

I ate some candy with wheat in it and was throwing up (violently) the night before we left.  Thanks for those who prayed.

I’m fine now.  Just exhausted, we left the house at 3:15 am.

Chris and I have traveled to Africa previously, it’s good to be back. I have never been to Ethiopia.  The people are uniquely beautiful. There’s a “happiness” in the air that I didn’t feel in China.

61 and raining.  It’s actually welcomed as we left 105 sunny behind.

I miss my kids!  (xxoo miss you all) With the time change it’s wonderful to know that they are all safely asleep in their beds.

At home I’ve longed for a break, but then when it happens I get weepy thinking of my kids, that I want to be with them…

Jim Elliot once said, “Where ever you are, be all there.  Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God”.

I really want to be “all here”.

We have the day to rest and we meet Adhanom (Luke) tomorrow.

Excited! nervous, a little scared, a little wondering about the “more-ness” of an 8th child.  Wondering how to connect, to bond with a 10 year old boy.  It will be different then our 3 adopted girls.  I doubt I’ll be a “rockin’ mama” with him.  God will provide opportunities, I know.

Chris is amazing.  I know Luke will enjoy playing with him tomorrow.  I imagine much bonding between the 2 of them.  I imagine my heart melting in a puddle as I greet the 2 brothers who wait.

God who calls is so faithful.

“For we are God’s masterpiece.  He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so that we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.”  Ephesians 2:10

 

 

8 Responses to “hello from Addis”

  1. sasha July 8, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    Praying that you rest well tonight! Can’t wait to hear about Luke and the other children. Praying for a family for the 2 brothers, they are such sweet boys!!

  2. Kari July 8, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    So glad to hear that you arrived safely, and I’m praying for a sweet meeting tomorrow with your son!! :) Love you guys!

  3. Mary Carlson July 8, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    I can vividly remember the view… the sites, sounds, aroma all come back… I so miss it!! Enjoy! Praying for you “to be all in it!”… Praying for Luke!!! Praying for a family for those sweet, wonderful boys!!! Love you!!

  4. Jo Moseley July 8, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    Oh, I Believe that your Boy is going to want and need his Mama. Father and Son relationships are special. But, sons love their Mama in a special way. I look forward to hearing about that bonding. I’m happy that you had that 13 hours for just the two of you. May your spirits draw closer together and may you both feel yourselves drawing nearer to Him during this time. I will be praying for all of your family, wherever you all may be.
    With Love ~ Jo

  5. Sonia July 8, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    oooo Can’t wait!! So excited for you sweet friend!!!!! Blog a lot!! We are all waiting over here!!!!

  6. teamvandervelde July 8, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I love you sister. I love your family – I can’t tell you how much fun we had on Saturday at the lake! All the kids were a joy. Seriously. We can’t wait for Luke to come home – I know he’ll fit in just perfect with the other 14 cousins. There’s room on that huge yellow and red raft for him. :) We are praying for you and Luke and the process.

  7. Carrie Lantry July 8, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Oh just so excited you are there. I too am praying you are able to be “all there”. Oh how I miss Addiss, can’t wait to hear more….

  8. Tini De Boer July 9, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Hi Chris & Laura, I’m Kari’s grandma and am so excited for your family and also for John & Kari (while they are waiting for their little one(s). God bless you and may you experience much joy with your new son.

Leave a Reply

