7 Aug

Our family hasn’t all been together for almost 2 weeks.

Noah is still at camp

Christopher, Lainee, Zinnia and Chris and I are home now

The others are with my parents.

Lainee and Zinnia were transfused today.

Lainee has been improving, her spleen has shrunk up and stayed that way and her iron levels are dropping!  This is great news for us.  She has done very well being transfused every three weeks this summer, she’s maintained a hem. level of a ten.

Zinnia has always been “worse” then lainee.  Her hemoglobin falls so quickly.  Yesterday she was 8.2.  Her iron levels are not decreasing like they should be and her liver iron level is very high.  In addition, her spleen is larger.

Today their doctor said we should transfuse again at 2 weeks, which is a blessing.  It will be the day before their school starts.  I know God will direct us each step of the way as we care for His children.

We’ve had some food issues with one of our adopted girls.  Hoarding that I discovered, hiding food, Nutter butters behind the bedroom fan, choc. chip cookies in the matress, pretty textbook.  I’m reading and praying and feeling thankful that God brought it to light, so thankful. That’s what we pray for, for sin to be discovered and revealed so we can parent and guide.

I pray for her little heart to heal and trust and know how much her heavenly Father cares for her.  I’m open to any material etc. anyone would recommend.

We are expecting for Chris to travel back to ethiopia sometime in September.  Luke is officially our son but now we wait for the US embassy to call us.

I’m having my jaw surgery tomorrow.

I’ll be in the hospital until Friday.

I’m very nervous and fighting off fear but I also feel ready and excited to have my jaw and bite issues behind me.  We were hoping to squeeze it in after the girls came home and before Luke arrives, wishing it would have been a little bit farther away from Luke’s arrival home.  My original surgery date ended up being our court date!

The date of jaw surgery is hard to come upon, everything has to be just perfect with the ortho. and the surgeon.  So I trust this date with the Lord.

I’m in good hands,

His hands

Amen!

3 Responses to “”

  1. Tobi Wright August 7, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    Praying for a successful surgery and recovery, for your daughter and new son!

  2. Karen J Moseley (@peasandluvfrmJO) August 9, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    I’ve read this regarding food hoarding. Have a bowl of healthy treats available at all times. Maybe give this little one a small bag with 2-3 packages of cookies that they can have with them in their room. It would prevent the need to hide the food and allow that little ones heart to stay pure and honest.

  3. Jennifer October 3, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    I was adopted as a toddler and until I left home to go to college I kept an unopened jar of peanut butter and a box of Saltines in my room. We never discussed it but my mom would know and when we would spring clean it would get thrown away without a word but a new one would be sitting in the pantry waiting for me to squirrel away. I guess he thought was that as long as it wasn’t a situation that would invite pests and it made me feel secure, it was a small thing she could let me have.

Leave a Reply

