update on laura

9 Aug

This is from Chris

Laura asked me to update her blog.  We miss our kids a lot, but know that they are in great hands…

Laura just completed a very extensive jaw surgery operation yesterday.  The surgery lasted about 3.5 hours.  It was very long, yet the surgery went well.

We left our home at 4:30am to get to the hospital at the needed time.  Everything was finished in the operating room around noon.  I met with the doctor and he said she had done well….now we just need to recover….

 

this is where it gets challenging.

 

Laura’s recovery has been anything but good.  It has been extremely difficult.

First, her surgery requires her to have her jaw “wired” shut for a couple of weeks…second, she cannot chew for a couple months.

if you have a wired closed mouth, try to imagine how challenging it is to even breathe or talk….(and this is right after surgery in the mouth)…

now throw in the element of getting sick….unfortunately, Laura was sick all day yesterday….throwing up at least 20 times…lots of pain and lots of tears came yesterday….yesterday was a very very hard day.

 

Some of you have been praying for Laura….Thank you very much.

 

Here is an update for where things currently stand.

She is doing better.  (still not in great shape by any means…but better than yesterday)

The throwing up has stopped….Praise you Lord Christ.

The nausea is way down….still dizziness here and there, but not like yesterday.

Still incredible pain in the face…that will likely last a while…

Swelling continues (peaks at day 3)…then it should start to go down.

She was able to sleep a little last night.  (i tried sleeping on the hospital couch in her room….does every hospital in America buy their furniture from the same 1970’s store???  needless to say, plywood is not real comfortable).

Laura said I could post a picture, but there are 2 things preventing that…first, i dont want to….second, i have NO idea how to do it.

 

Anyway, please continue to pray for healing and comfort.

 

Blessings,

Chris

 

 

10 Responses to “update on laura”

  1. Cindy Bennett August 9, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Thank you for the update! Laura was on my heart all day yesterday- I was constantly uplifting her in prayer. I’m sorry to hear about how difficult her recovery is so far. Please know I will continue to pray for her through out this journey! Love you Laura! Cindy Bennett

  2. Beckie Johnson (Nana) August 9, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Laura, I am praying for you.

    Psalm 30:2
    O Lord my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me.

    A sister in Christ, Beckie (missionary in Taiwan…)

  3. Kari August 9, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    Love you, Laura!! Hang in there… We are praying all the time that you get better really soon. Let me know if there is ANYTHING we can do. Thanks for the update, Chris. :)

  4. Sherri August 9, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Oh bless her heart! Praying healing will come speedily. Such a blessing you can be with her!

  5. Karen J Moseley (@peasandluvfrmJO) August 9, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    I’m sorry to hear of the difficult first day. I love you, sweet friend and I will say many prayers for you. Rest well. ~ Jo

  6. Sonia August 9, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    Oh no!! I have been thinking about her the last two days, and I will pray for her healing!! Keep us posted! Hugs Laura!!!

  7. Care August 9, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    I can’t imagine how miserable and frustrating. Praying for fast healing and patience.

  8. Tobi Wright August 9, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    Chris, Thank you for the update. My heart goes out to Laura. Tell her I’m praying. Tobi

  9. cristie english August 9, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Thank you for these posts. I will keep Laura in my prayers for quick healing.
    I’m around if I can help in any way. Love to you Laura!! :)

Leave a Reply

