stable

10 Aug

no new photos, right now.

I think i’d scared you!

I look worse but am feeling stable now.

this is laura typing.  Chris went home to sleep last night.

I stayed here in the hospital and slept very little, off and on from 10-1 and a maybe 4-5:30.

I’ve been praying alot.  Praising God for who He is, meditating on his good character.

I’m so thankful that my mom has my children still, accept Christopher and Noah.  The others would scream!

I’m so thankful to finally have the surgery behind me.  It has been on the back of my mind for years,  but mostly the last 2 years when my headaches and bite and jaw got worse.

I can feel the inside of my mouth with my tongue and tell that now my top teeth are out over the bottoms, I cried.

Breathing is my challenge still.  I have a very swollen passage way and my children have a cold that I could feel coming on the day before surgery, but they let me go ahead as I passed a physical.

I have stopped vomiting which was un.real!  I am not wired shut like Chris thought but rather very thick tight rubber bands are holding my teeth together, I was vomiting through that.  I really thought my face would explode.

So, I have only been taking motrin and tylenol 3 while here to manage pain because of my weak stomach.  I’m also on a steroid to reduce swelling.

Each day will be better.  and better.

To God be the glory.

I’m beyond thankful for my friends and family and you my blog friends.  How sweet you all are.

thank you.

I’ll keep posting pictures, it’s interesting!

Noah comes home from camp today, and I hope to be discharged tonight.

14 Responses to “stable”

  1. Gloria August 10, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    oh my word Laura! Your surgery is literally my worst nightmare. You are so brave to even consider it, let alone go through with it! :) Praying for you now. That is awesome you are able to praise Him in the midst of it..pain,vomiting, no sleep, etc. I pray He continues to give you strength and courage and hope. Gloria (Brenda’s sister)

  2. Julie Southard August 10, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Laura I am so sorry. . I am praying for you. Please let me know how I can help.

    • laurajonesjournal.wordpress.com August 10, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      thanks julie~ i appreciate your prayers, now and through all the years we’ve prayed for each other.
      God is so faithful to me.

  3. apamm1 August 10, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Have enjoyed following your blog. Blessings on your adoptions. Glad to hear things are moving in the right direction, post surgery. I can really sympathize with you. I had jaw surgery and the jaw ‘banded’ shut for 2 years. You will be surprised at the things you will be able to ‘eat’/suck through a straw, or ‘maneuver enough with your tongue to break it up to swallow . (Some things you never thought, but ‘fun to experiment’.) It really wasn’t as bad as it sounds. It is primarily a ‘mental battle’ & remembering that ‘you’ll feel better for going through it. Pam-(Flossmoor, IL)

    • laurajonesjournal.wordpress.com August 10, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      thank you. i can’t imagine 2 years. i am not allowed to use a straw for about 5 weeks. thanks for writing in to me.

  4. Sonia August 10, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Hang in there sweet friend!! This will all be a distant memory before you know it and the rewards will well be worth it! You have been on my heart ALL day! Hugs!

  5. sasha August 10, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Praying for you Laura!

  6. Tobi Wright August 10, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Laura, I’m always encouraged and challenged by the way you take the hard things and look for the good. “Consider it pure joy when you face hardships of many kinds.” You are persevering in the middle of a very difficult time. I’m praying for a great recovery!

  7. jean Mulvahill August 10, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    Well. I am thankful you are stable and blogging. My goodness your poor dear thing… Saying prayers for you – for healing and for pain management.
    HUGS,
    Jean

  8. Carrie Lantry August 10, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Good to see your doing well enough to type! Prayed several times for you today and will keep it up. With each of my c-sections all I could take was the Motrin and Tylenol because of my week stomach, the pain was better than the throwing up to me! I can’t imagine it with teeth locked, oh heavens, you are a brave woman. Keep up the good healing! :o)

  9. andrewpratt1 August 10, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    Hey Laura, I was catching up on your blog and am remembering my own jaw surgery and the painful process of recovery that it was. Sounds like you can already feel the improvement–that is wonderful! I too was banded shut for a number of weeks and had more smoothies and blended foods than I care to remember! I’m sure you and Chris will get creative with the blender. Hang in there; before you know it you will be able to get down soup and oatmeal. ;) I’ll be praying for you. Blessings, Cindy

    • Cindy Pratt August 10, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      Sorry, Laura, I just realized the previous reply posted as my son, Andrew! Sorry!

  10. Wendy Hoff August 10, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    My prayers are with you..may the pain and swelling subside soon and you are well on your way to recovery.

  11. Jenny Grimm August 11, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    Praying for you Laura!

Leave a Reply

