11 Aug

I’m home.

this morning. the swelling is better then yesterday.
each day is new. day 4

I came home at about 4 yesterday.  Chris took his little black car to pick me up and I was holding on by a thread the entire way  home because we felt every little bump.  We played the Christian radio station and I held back tears.  “Holy Holy Holy”

Noah arrived home at about 5.  I really tried not to cry when he came in my bedroom, but it was impossible.  I am struggling to get good breaths, so it made it a little worse.

Noah, just arriving home last night, sitting on my bed visiting with me.

He is so sweet.  His smell and smile made my night.  He sat on my bed and shared.  He told us he cried one night at camp.  Not because he was homesick but because of Luke, wondering and praying for Luke to be ours, for our family to pass court.  We felt terrible that we had not written him the news.  He was so relieved when we told him the news, “Luke Jones is our brother, for certain.”  He took a deep breath in and cried a small tear.  He’s precious.  He has been so passionate about bringing home Luke.

Last night Chris took Noah and Christopher out for burgers and texted this photo to me with the caption, “are you crying yet?”

I’m really trying to Eat, Slurp…whatever.  I have numbness but pain in my entire face.  It’s so strange. The top jaw was severed on both sides and pushed forward, secured with “rigid fixation – 2 plates with screws.  the bottom jaw was severed on both sides and slid backward, removing bone and set in place with the plates and screws.  I have stitches above the entire top row of teeth, and below the entire bottom row of teeth.  I have not seen them, my lips are so swollen.  Also, my top two wisdom teeth where removed.

So I have a syringe with a long tube-straw connected to it.  I suck up the liquid in that and pass it into my mouth, past all my teeth and around the end of the teeth row into the back of my mouth.  It’s an ordeal.  All the teeth are rubber banded shut.  I’m thinking that this is only untill Monday when they said I can start to use a spoon, but I cannot imagine it yet. I anticipated driving myself to my appointment on monday, the nurse said, “um, girl, you’d be the first one to do so in the 12 years I’ve worked here to drive to the post op appointment…”  I thought, “well, she doesn’t know how tough I am.”  Well, I’m NOT driving in on MOnday, ha!

I felt horrible in the night, shaking and weak.  I knew I needed nutrition.  I had not yet fallen asleep so at about 1 am I tried to get something in me, I did and have continued, it’s quite an ordeal.  I sat on my bathroom floor and made it through a protein thing of some sort.  I slept from 4-6 and 7-10 this morning.  I think the sleep problem is breathing.  I will drift off and not be able to get a good breath and start lightly coughing, sniffing etc.

I’m tolerating Starb*ucks bottled frappacinos trying to prevent a caffeine withdraw headache. just one yesterday and one today.  Also Odwall* juices and somevother chocolate protein drink I found at the store.  I’m gonna try to make, or have Chris make a kefir smoothy since I’m on a high dose of antibiotics…

Nasal sprays and vaporizer are helping too.

I know each day will get better.  I’ve been reading the psalms and praying lots for my family and friends, so many needs around me, in the lives of those I love and care for.

Jonah runs a race in MI tonight, I’m excited for him.  Christopher has been home for High School Cross Country.  I’m so thankful for my wonderful parents caring for the children, and thankful for my Noah and Christopher to be here with us.

Psalm 31:14,15

But I trust in you, O LORD, I say, “You are my God”.  My times are in your hands…

What a wonderful place to be, isn’t it?

In His hands

7 Responses to “”

  1. Karen J Moseley (@peasandluvfrmJO) August 11, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Oh, Laura, I feel like crying! I don’t like to see/hear/know that anyone is hurting, but especially someone I love and respect. I had a pituitary tumor removed in my early 20’s and that involved making an incision under the top lip and folding my upper face back. ooooooo I am shaking, just thinking about it. So I know what you’re going through. I will keep praying for a quick healing in your mouth and for NO complications! I hope you do get to start using a spoon on Mon.. Will the little ones be coming home soon? I’m thinking that they would be so sad for you. I have never done well when my sweet Mom is sick or injured. You ARE tough! But, allow others to take care of you. Love, Jo

  2. Kari August 11, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Continuing to pray for you, sister. You know I’m here for you. ;)

  3. k August 12, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    You are so brave to have undergone such a surgery! I’ll be praying that you have strength, comfort, and relief from pain during your recovery.

    • laurajonesjournal.wordpress.com August 12, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      thanks Kimi,
      praying for you and your girls. I’m not sure if I’m brave or just clueless as to what I really had coming to me recovery-wise! Your prayers are so appreciated. One day at a time.

  4. Cindy Pratt August 12, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Praying for you, Laura, and it sounds like you are doing the best you can. Glad you have those strong men to help you. You are right, one day at a time and in His Hands. It will get easier.

  5. Helen Stark August 12, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    Dear Laura,

    Please know that you and your dear family remain close to my heart and in my prayers. You are going through so much right now Laura. How I wish I could carry your pain for you. I do mean that.

    I rejoice with each of you on the wonderful news of Luke. He is a handsome young man! What a blessing you will all be to one another. What joy!

    I truly praise and thank our Lord for each of you!,

    God Bless you Laura!

    In His Great Love,

    Helen Stark ( Kathleen’s mom Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

