My race, Jonah’s race

12 Aug

Nothing much has changed today, accept that I don’t feel so out of it, I guess.

thanks for prayers for healing.  thanks so much.

I’m kind of discouraged and surprised by the pain.  I had followed a video journal of a teenaged girl who had the same surgery that I did.  I was amazed as I watched her talk through the rubberbands, “Day 8 and I have no pain still…”  I guess I thought that I would be the same.  This is a mental battle for me.  I can easily get sad and discouraged.  Jesus, I fix my eyes on you alone.

My face feels hot and tight and stiff and stuffy, throbbing.   Numb in parts and my nose is now off center…hum.  Chris helped me wash my hair last night and I cried, it hurt to tilt my face up to the ceiling, it hurt in my nose, but we had to wash the hair, and we had to avoid getting the white strip wet, I have no idea what it looks like under there.  I know I have stitches, I don’t know how many.  Tomorrow I’ll find out, he’s supposed to take it off.  the surgeon!  not chris!

a double chin! I’ve always had a very prominent lower jaw line. I’m wondering how much different I’ll look. Not much, as we are talking millimeters in terms of movement of the jaws, but i can anticipate the achy lower jaw, awkward bite will be gone, one day.

I’m wondering what the road ahead looks like for me.  I have had to re-think my week next week, it’s a busy one, with school starting up (I’ll be homeschooling only 2 this year and that will come later! 8th grade and 5th grade  with 2 very easy students, it will be a great year.  oh and Luke when he arrives! )girls needing blood etc.  I just don’t know what to expect, as far as what I’ll be up for.  Sasha offered to take the girls for blood next Friday, they will love that and I’m hoping maybe my mom can come in the beginning of the week.  Chris will be with me this coming week, he can work if he has his phone which is a huge blessing.

He has spent HOURS at our dining room table going through piles and piles of papers.  We have had much to organize.  Christopher has turned the corner from a cold to sick. on the sofa all day.  I’m hoping to stay healthy.

On the bright side, Jonah ran a race in MI yesterday.  I got a text from my dad at the finish, “Jonah finished first!” Good job Jonah.  Mom Jones, this MUST remind you of Chris at 13 yrs old.  

jonah jones gets the gold~

Tomorrow I see the surgeon

and my children~

3 Responses to “My race, Jonah’s race”

  1. Carrie Lantry August 13, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    still praying and will continue to, hang in there…

  2. Gail Mudra August 13, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Praying for you! Know just what this is like as I had very similar jaw surgery in college. I know it’s awful. Praying that you feel stronger each day:)

  3. Robin. Diepenhorst August 21, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Laura,Oh I just got done catching up with your blog….girl you are amazing.oh and i hopeypurface is healing and feeling better.

    Ummmthe race your son won…..was it by chance the heights of hope 5 k?im thinking it was me and my kids have been working with those kids the past three summers and alot the staff are close friends.To think your family was in my hood and imissed them.We where on a family trip in the UP tent camping. Robin. Diepenhorst

Leave a Reply

