one week~still

15 Aug

feeling like

I

have

a

Longer

road

ahead of me

healing-wise

then I realized….sigh and sniff  :(

still numb, still puffy, still awkward, still pain, still tasting blood, still slurping soup and yogurt.

still impatient???

thankful for my sister who came last night for a couple hours and made me laugh like I haven’t for a week

thank you sarah!

I told her about answering the door to the refrigerator repair man who looked at me very shyly and looked down at his feet to talk, “here for your freezer?”  Then I remembered!  Oh, i’m freaky looking!!!  So I called up my oldest son, who told him mom had surgery yada yada…

I went into the bathroom while he worked and looked down at my sweater.  I had clumps of yogurt on the front of me!!  OH!  That must have made it even more strange for that poor young guy!

But then, I looked in the bathroom mirror…

AH!!!!  My chin was covered in yogurt!  I couldn’t even feel it!!

I jogged down to talk to oldest son, “why didn’t you tell me???” through clenched sore teeth pointing at the yogurt covered chin…

“I thought it was part of your treatment, mom, like a cream or something!  Sorry!”

still having a sore face from laughing with Sarah and the stories she shared!

HA!

and yes

Stillholding HIS hand~

lainee grace~ helping mom. She thrives on helping me. I had to fill out a sheet for her 1st grade teacher this week. one of the questions said, “what does your child like to do best?” I thought and thought and wrote that Lainee likes to help mom the most. She really does. She would rather do that then anything else! I could ask her to do any job and she really thrives, especially if we do it…together.

6 Responses to “one week~still”

  1. Shelby August 15, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Praying for your healing to go quickly!! Yogurt story made me laugh out loud! :)

  2. k August 16, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    too funny! Yep, yogurt treatment.

  3. Sonia August 16, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Oh girl, I SO wish I were there. I have a feeling we would laugh for hours. Ok….and cry a little too. But hey, all in the name of healing right? Hang in there!!!!

  4. meredith (kooyer) van wieren August 16, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    hi laura!
    it was so great to “re-meet” you at tennis this summer.
    i just read your blogs since then! WOW!
    you have my prayers……
    and thank you for taking the time to share your inspiring story.
    yep. the yogurt story made me laugh outloud too. ;)

  5. Sherri August 18, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    Laura! We are on vacation..limited computer time. But want u to know I am praying for u today…for courage and healing and HIS love to fill you and fill in the cracks…the places you can’t reach today in the needs of your family…

    • laurajonesjournal.wordpress.com August 18, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

      oh Sherri, thank you so much. What a beautiful prayer, I’ll remember to pray. So many places we feel we can’t reach, but GOD can. thanks Sherri

Leave a Reply

