12 Sep

returned from the surgeon

without the okay to eat whatever I want.

It’s okay. (?!?)

He said that my jaws were now “rock solid in place”

but..??  I’m not really sure, he was in and out of the room like a FLASH~

Yikes!

He said that I should be moving my jaw in all directions as much as possible to increase the amount that it can open (it’s hard to open wide) and get the muscles working again.

He said to remove the rubber bands on the sides

I quickly told him that the most painful part was my NOSE!  I never expected this.  I have drainage (not like a cold) and it’s very tender, yet numbish and thick feeling.

That’s when he sped through the phrase “second surgery-performed by your ENT-” and the room literally began to spin.

I missed the next of seconds of his talking and came-to when he opened the door to walk out of the room.  Looking over his shoulder he said, “don’t freak out on me, Laura, we can talk more about complications with your nose at the 3 month mark, see you in 2 weeks!”.

“Can i eat after that?”  I murmured.

“Yes”.  said his nurse.

O.K?

She

said I can begin chewing anything that “basically melts in your mouth”…

I’m still not really sure what that is.

I came home and made my first omlet in 5 weeks.

Chewing was super duper weird and chokey, and bite on the inside of my cheeky.

i mean chomping on the insides of my cheeks.

the next day i decided to stick with oatmeal and yogurt again.

It will just take time!

Still numb in my nose, lips, inside my mouth and chin…

the orthodontist removed my thick surgical wire, hooks, metal ties etc. yesterday.  Said my braces will come off the first week of november.  :)

in other news~

Kids are doing great and I get a lump in my throat just about everytime I look at the big kids.

Time goes so fast and they have brought me great joy.

The hardest part of the day is that after school-pre dinner time, like all of you know for yourselves!

Noah requires about 90 mins a night one on one with me.

It’s so much different then homeschooling him, he needs me now and seems so appreciative, sweet.  I love helping him.

The worst part of the day is also the best part of the day for me.

But, my entire day seems a bit too much schoolish.  Homeschooling 5th and 8th during the day and helping-supervising the 5 schooled kids in the evening.

Every night I offer our sophomore, “need any help sweetheart?  any thing I can do for you?”

We know I could never help with what he’s working on!! So we giggle.

I often think (i cannot keep this up much longer…)

But, it’s happening this way this year.

I know it won’t always be like this.

I want to enjoy it.

loud, full, busy, interacting with my kids.

Cleaning up dinner to have the kitchen all dragged out again by the teen boys.  Omlets are the 7:00-9:00 snack as of late.

Feeling thankful and picturing how Luke is going to fit in this mess mix.

He’ll love it.

And I’ll remember in the hard times that we are not home yet.  This life is but a short wink in all of time.  we will truly beginning living in heaven with Jesus.  This is not my journey’s end.  This Life was not meant to be my end-all.  That, yes, he really did mean it when he asked us to give Him our lives~

2:30 “busted” or rather “quieted with His love”

Zephaniah 3:18

He (God) will take great delight in you,

He will quiet you with His love,

He will rejoice over you with singing…

(how beautiful!)

4 Responses to “”

  1. Carrie Lantry September 12, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I love that picture! That’s how I feel today. So sorry for all of the complications and uncomfortableness with your healing, yuck! Will be praying. Good to hear your hanging in there. Makes me remember to cherish these young days, can be hard on days like today. But so thankful for the precious ones God has entrusted to me, they do indeed bring SO much joy. Love to you!

  2. Leah September 14, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Such an encouraging post, Laura. We are in this together! God, help me to remember my sisters with little ones in prayer around the dinner hour when I myself feel swamped. Thanks for the reminder to spend ourselves for Him…what would we be saving our strength for anyway? I think Spurgeon said, “Work yourself to death, then pray yourself alive” or something to that effect. I pray for you when I walk by your house!

  3. roomforatleastonemore October 3, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    Ditto.

    And the picture. Can I join you next time? ;)

Leave a Reply

