Luke’s first day home

14 Oct

He is very thankful for everything.  The first words he said to me where at our home as I showed him his bed and closet etc.  He squeezed my waist hard and said, “thank you mom, I love it”.

I love this photo.

thank you friends who joined us at the airport.

It was special.

sasha, laura, mary,
joseph, luke, sam friends adopting friends.
Katie! you are next! our friend katie is bringing home siblings from the same orphan home

he was so excited and amazed to see everything at home. He had a huge smile on his face. Noah took the job of showing him around. It was so sweet. Everything noah showed luke said so quietly and sweetly, “oh. thank you.” Noah explained, “girls upstairs, mom and dad middle floor, boys downstairs”.  

the boys have been so great with him. this is just after arriving home. I’m so thankful for our basement. It has been rainy! They played while the girls and I got ready for dinner.

our first meal. I told him how excited we were that all the seats were taken now that he was home. we all clapped and he smiled huge.

he held on until about 7:00 then drifted off on the couch. He loves the boys. He walked around all day today with his arm around Noah. Noah is so sweet to him.

this morning we went to church.  I gave him a little “reader” Bible.  He could read it!  Very slowly he read, “God made the world”.

He hugged it and said, “Bible.  thank you mom.”

The other children ran off to their classes but he sat with us in the sanctuary.

Many people welcomed him.

After church he talked with his friends as the families looked on, wondering what they were saying etc.

On the way home we decided to stop at c*lver’s to eat lunch.  Wow!  he downed a burger FAST, and ate a lot of fries.

I’m still not sure how much english he knows. He says little phrases when he’s playing with his brothers.  Like, “ok jonah, one more time!”  etc.

I really don’t know him at all!  He’s been busy with all the children not needing me.  I know it will come.

So far, he has slipped right in.  My heart yearns to know him.

The little girls are just nutso over him.  We’ve had to say several times, “okay girls, upstairs now!  give him some space!”

he tried to ride mimi’s pink bike today in the rain, never having done it before, I said, “tomorrow!”

I’m really counting on getting to know him more tomorrow when the girls go to school.  I know he will miss Noah but it’s going to be fine. (i hope!) Jonah and Gigi will enjoy being alone with him.

I’ve grabbed worksheets from random books today hoping he will work through them tomorrow with me, even for 20 minutes or so.

Tomorrow is Lainee’s birthday!!  We bought her a balloon today and I said, “let’s not let the boys play with it, lainee, they will pop it!”

Well, somehow it ended up in the boy’s area of the house and yes, you guessed it…pop.  Luke did not do it but he could sense how sad it was.  He tried to tape it up with such a concerned look on his sweet face.

Chris read the bible tonight like he always does, Luke drifted off in the chair looking so sweet.

I just tucked him into his bed.  I said, “bed?  it’s good?”  and he said, “yes, it’s good”.  I prayed for him with my hand on his head.  after I said amen he grabbed my wrist ( the one with all my anniversary bands) he said, “mom.”  and I said, “yes?”  and he pulled me to him and kissed my cheek and said 3 times “thank you thank you thank you!”

I said, ” thank you!”

AND thank you!  for all your emails, prayers, texts etc.  I appreciate it so much.

God bless you all~

9 Responses to “Luke’s first day home”

  1. laurajonesjournal.wordpress.com October 14, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    i know my head is fuzzy. but why is my header fuzzy??? i’ll work on that tomorrow while lukes tryin to ride the “bicycle”

  2. Carrie Lantry October 14, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Oh just loving every minute of this post. Thank for sharing, I am sure time is scarce to say the least. He does look like a Jones, so handsome. My heart is just happy thinking about him home, in a safe, warm bed tonight with a family who will show him the Lord’s love. Blessings and sweet dreams Luke!

  3. Tobi Wright October 14, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    Laura, I’m all teary. Just happy for all of you! I love the recognition in Luke’s eyes in the 1st photo.

  4. sasha October 15, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    I remember when Joseph first came home, his thankfulness was so genuine. These are very special boys, we are so blessed to be their moms!
    Praying that some family can experience this sweetness with the 2 boys that are still in need of a family.

  5. Sonia October 15, 2012 at 6:50 am #

    Sniff. Sob. Cry. Gracious Laura, that was beautiful! Looks like he is fitting right in, a Jones through and through!! So incredibly happy for you sweet friend! Keep the updates coming, your posse is loving it!

  6. cristie english October 15, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Congratulations! This is so like the birth of a new child…the welcoming in of a new little life and celebrating all the “firsts” that come with it. We have been praying all weekend for each of you and are so excited to see Luke home!
    So grateful to our Lord that He chose to adopt us, setting an example as to how our lives can reflect HIM. To God be the glory.
    Blessings~Blessings~Blessings today.
    Much love~ The English Family

  7. Sherri October 15, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    LOVE!

  8. beth October 18, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    oh, that mike and i would have this honor:)
    love you all.

  9. Sarah October 18, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Oh my goodness! What a precious boy.

Leave a Reply

