loving Luke

19 Oct

major cutie pie, lainee on her birthday day

Happy Lainee. mashed potatoes and spaghetti was her choice meal for the evening (7 again!:)

The girls were transfused today, a big giant “thank you” to my friend and sister-in-law who took it over for me today.  Thank you E and K!!!

I wish you all could know Luke.  He is so extremely shy with others.  He does such unique things, excited over everything, thankful and cute.

 

joseph and luke at my house.  Joseph said, “you used to be taller then me!  my mom said it’s all the cookies I eat now!  I’m taller!  I haven’t see you for 8 months!”  Luke had a very hard morning Wednesday.  I’m so thankful that Joseph could come in the afternoon and talk to him, encourage him.  They went to Wednesday night church together after dinner at my house, he was so excited to see Samuel again too at church. 

blah blah blah something in their own language and joseph begins to tie Luke’s shoes. sweetness

learning the value of american coins with mom in the parking lot at the grocery store

luke and gigi watching the dog get a special shower in this van after a skunk spray when dad was out of town.

luke’s favorite thing in his new house? the oven. it’s a new oven, just installed before he came home. HE loves it. we have baked everything. experimenting. baked bananas, baked grapes, baked sweet potatoes, peanuts….he is keeping me laughing.  

sasha’s ethiopian friend made luke some ethiopian food today….one happy boy!!! he wanted to bring some to dad at work for lunch. he added in a “fanta” because he saw dad drink it on the plane. He was beaming when we brought it to work. I called chris ahead of time, “please make a big tado over this okay??”

his chicken! oh happiness.

Luke is a very nice boy.  His English is incredible, I guess compared to Lainee and Zinnia when they came home with nothing.  He talks with me more than anyone else.

I figured out on Monday that if I talk with an african accent he understands me!!!  “Luke!  you good boy!!  yes!!”

He is sweet sweet sweet.  He says, “oh my mommy you are so so sweet.”  and “oh God you are so good to me!!! OOOEEEE!!! Yes my God.  Oh yes you are!!  Good God!  Good mommy!! OOO EEE!  Yes!” and “thank you my good mommy, so good dinner!! yes!  yes!!  good food my mommy!”

We laugh together and enjoy eachother.  It has been a good week.  Even as I type I feel like I am talking in Africa, Oh yes, it is good week!

so many funny Luke stories.

So little time.

i’ve lost my voice and feeling sick, ready for a weekend. :(

 

~My heart is heavy heavy heavy for his two friends in Ethiopia.

They are brothers, waiting.  One is 12 and one is maybe 7.  Sweet, good boys, we have met them.  luke has been praying for them when we pray together.  it breaks my heart and at those moments I think i would do it in a heart beat.  This life is so short….

Please God make a way.

luke taught himself how to ride a bike this week..I’ll tell him that it’s mimi’s pink bike another time…. :) (thank you good mimi) i’ve run up and down our road after him on this bike, played soccer with him and basket ball!  “OOEE, mom is old!!”  I said when he asked me to jump on the trampoline   “my trampoline days are ova cute Luke!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “loving Luke”

  1. godsizedliving October 19, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    Uncle Ed and I loved looking at these pictures!! Luke is so handsome, and we’re so glad he’s had such a good week. We can’t wait to meet you, buddy!!
    And….Lainee Grace couldn’t be cuter…

  2. Care October 19, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    What a beautiful little boy. I’ve been praying for a quick transition. It’s great to hear how it’s been going.

  3. nicole October 19, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    sorry you are sick as well.
    looks like things are going well.
    thx for the update…admit..i check often :-)
    take care of you so that you can take care of them.
    our adventure heads home next friday.
    oh.happy.day.
    let me know if you need an ear…anytime.
    xoxo

  4. Tobi Wright October 20, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I love seeing Seven from Heaven in my email! I’m rejoicing with you over Luke’s good week. I will join you in praying for his friends.Also that you will feel better soon!

  5. K October 22, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    I sure hope you get sick on top of it all! Rest, rest, rest! Is that possible once we’re moms? My heart is with Luke and all of you right now, my taste buds are especially with you right now and I drool over that ingera!

  6. kristi October 22, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    O LORD THANK YOU!! I ADORE YOU!!
    Dear jones family.. I just updated myself to your blog.. havent read since sweet luke came home to your family! TEARS OF JOY AND TOUCHED HEART AT HIS SWEET FIRST WEEK.. and the hard days.. I will continue to pray for Luke!!! God WILL SHOW HIMSELF FAITHFUL AND FULL OF MERCY AND COMPASSION TO LUKE HEART AND MIND. I AM ZEKES SiSTER :)

  7. Melissa Norris October 24, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    I actually got to meet Chris and Luke in the Airport in Addis and flew back to the US on the same flight. I had the blessing to pray over them with my team and ask God to bless your growing family. My husband and I have decided to take a leap of faith and adopt from Ethiopia also. Please be praying for us.

Leave a Reply

