cashews…..

22 Oct

Luke finally turned a corner after about 24 hours of sad, confusing, anger,fear and silence.

Sasha brought Joseph (who grew up with Luke in Ethiopia) over and Joseph talked to him and prayed over him in Tygrinia,

wow.  it was beautiful to hear his little voice call out to God on behalf of his friend.

Sasha and I, so thankful to witness God’s work in these kids.

Luke later got to go and spend sometime with Joseph and his family, it was good, for him to see Joseph a step ahead of him, being home 8 months now.

Before he went to Joseph’s he broke the 24 hour silence with me.

He hugged me, kissed my cheek and whispered, “so sorry mommy.  I love you.”

That was hope to me.  That is what I had prayed for all day.

thank you, Lord.

I did not loose heart in it but I was close!  it is normal but hard and scary.  I know it may happen again.

Bringing in an older child is a very delicate dance, connecting~correcting~language and culture funkiness.

I’m up for it and ready.  God has equipped me and is keeping me needing Him.

I’m committed to helping him heal, he’s my boy.

 

He loves peanuts!  We ran out of them last night and I told him we would go to the store today to get more.

well, i just couldn’t make it happen today!  He asked, “mommy, peanuts, store?”  I hated to tell him “no, sorry! we need to go….”

He was nice and sweet and would say, “ok, mommy, ok”.

well!!!  Tonight, my friend Penny sent over, via her son, a card that said “LUKE” and a bag of Cashews!!!

It was amazing and perfect.

He beamed as he read her note out loud.  He laughed!!!  “mom!  peanuts!!!!  God peanuts!  Thank you God!”

It was so cool for us all.  “God knows Luke!  God knows!”

I know he felt so loved and cared for by that

He opened the package and dumped out half on the table and pushed them to me and said, “goodmommy, for you…yes, yes, yes, mommy, for you.”

oooooo, mega sweetness,

thank you God for the work you are doing,

in all of us

 

5 Responses to “cashews…..”

  1. Carrie Lantry October 22, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Thanks for posting this update, my heart was heavy today for you and him. God is good answering prayers in such a sweet way, Cashews I love it! Sleep tight, and in your words that I always so appreciate, Press on…

  2. Sherri October 23, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    oooooo, isn’t God good? So many gifts, so many details He works out for our children,s good. Thank you for sharing! We never let our son go off to his room and shut the door or be alone during his sad times. It was hard because that’s what he wanted to do at the time. After he had been home a few weeks he told a Chinese speaking friend…”I know my mom and dad love me because they talk to me when I am sad or mad. They don’t just leave me all alone.” So yes, press on….God will give you the wisdom to handle each situation as it comes.

  3. Tobi Wright October 23, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    More good stuff to ponder! Thank you so much for sharing your lives with us!

  4. Sarah October 25, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Our God is so faithful! And I think, from what I can tell, you are an amazing mama!!

  5. jean Mulvahill October 31, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Wonderful!! What a great GOD surprise!! Thankful for the good days!!
    Keeping you all in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

