little update~

2 Dec

Luke had surgery this week, to remove the thing in his ear.

It looked like a blackened  big cherry pit.  He is hearing better!  IMG_2734IMG_2737

The Toby Mac is not nearly so loud as it used to be.

Luke is endearing.  Truly.

He likes to cuddle and hug and kiss me on my cheeks.

I didn’t expect that!

at. all.

I love, love his little black skinned face right next to mine.

He loves to snuggle on the sofa and watch Little House episodes with me.

He beams as he runs to grab a blanket to cover me up.

He whispers in my ear, wondering what is happening if he cannot understand the English.  Whispering so as not to disturb his sister, gigi, snuggled under my other arm.IMG_2725

He leans in often and kisses my cheek, drapping his arm over my belly,

“mommy you good, good, good, mommy. thank you, you my mommy!!!!  OOOO God is good!  Oh yes!”

Slowing down to be in the mix with the children, being engaged and available.  Lord, that’s how I want to be, as Christmas busyness clutters my mind.  I feel like I have so much to take care of at this time of year.  Lord help me to do it swiftly, wisely, well.IMG_2709

Since the Saturday after Thanksgiving (this photo was taken at Chris’ parents home in TN)

someone has been sick in our home.

As Luke Jones said, “day, day, day, day sick jones!”

Thursday and part of Friday were my days.

Thursday night Christopher, my oldest,  brought me flowers.  oooo so sweet

Luke was in near tears over the fact that I wasn’t feeling well.

He assured me, hugging and hugging.  “Luke work!  Mom sleep!”

Jonah came in my room and bent down to hug me.  “NO! Be careful, Jonah, you’ll get sick!”

And he was sweetly unstoppable.  got sick.

Today was Chris’s day, sick.

So tomorrow is monday, and Noah is left!  We did a whole weeks worth of homework today, wheeewwww!  While the others watched Little House episodes and dad was in bed.

If I’m calculating correctly it should be through my house by Tuesday morning,

when we head to Disney World.

mrs. king, God Bless her, has made luke so happy1  She gave him a certificate for completing a level on Lexia Reading (LOVE,LOVE,LOVE lexia reading!!!!)  Here he is.  He asked me, "mommy please we plaster my certificate on my shirt?"  I said, "ummmm...can't we just use tape????"  So, here it is taped to his tshirt.  adorable gift.

mrs. king, God Bless her, has made luke so happy1 She gave him a certificate for completing a level on Lexia Reading (LOVE,LOVE,LOVE lexia reading!!!!) Here he is. He asked me, “mommy please we plaster my certificate on my shirt?” I said, “ummmm…can’t we just use tape????” So, here it is taped to his tshirt. adorable gift.

4 Responses to “little update~”

  1. Sonia December 3, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Ahhhhh!! Noooooo! No sick before Disney……wait….never mind….that beats the heck out of being sick IN Disney. Remind me the days you’ll be out here? Tuesday-? I don’t think I can get out there till Friday. Please oh please say you’ll be there until at least Friday!!!!!!

  2. gospelnomad December 5, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    I hope you are all having a wonderful time at Disney! Thanks for this beautiful post! I continue to be inspired by your family!!

  3. Sarah December 5, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    He is just soooooooo sweet!

  4. Tobi December 12, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    Hi Laura, I’ve been following your blog for a few months. I’ve prayed for your family and now I am asking for prayer and maybe an email address. We just got a referral for an older Ethiopian child and would love to be able to correspond with you. tobiwright@gmail.com :)

Leave a Reply

