wiping out our strep

5 Mar

WEll,  thanks for your notes today family and friends.

i’ve been to the vet and two doctors offices todayIMG_3452

i’m sure we are nearly to the end of this.  we must be!!IMG_3455

pretty much mayhem in the examining room.

everyone was tested for strep.

the children were great, actually.  Zinnia is so sick again.  She was the one who got the most attention at the doctor’s office today.  All her sibs were so concerned over her.  Poor Gigi is sick too, she was so dizzy she fell down while all the children were lining up to get weighed.  It’s gigi and zinnia’s birthday week so we really hope they are well for their celebration days.

how miss g spent most of the day~laying down.

how miss g spent most of the day~laying down.

we had a beautiful snow storm here today

jonah standing at the mouth of the igloo

jonah standing at the mouth of the igloo

after the appointments jonah built a huge igloo.

the photos just don’t do a good job of showing its magnitude

inside!

inside!

 

IMG_3469

rascal luke in the igloo

rascal luke in the igloo

I know what you are thinking:”oh!  luke must be so cold!”  (It’s been an issue).  The boy wants nothing to do with winter gear, or normal shoes for that matter.  I’ve hid his summer shoes, but someone he found them!  Out to brunch sunday I spied them on his feet.  BURRRR.

I’ve tried, “no jacket=no outside”  and now I’m in the “whatever. i’m sick of telling him! he will figure it out on his own” phase.  He did manage boots, snow pants and hat, gloves, jacket, the whole nine yards earlier this morning…he was so awkward, but he does enjoy the snow more when his skin is covered!!

What gets me riled is his extreme unorganization and forgetfulness.  He needs some serious training in this area.  We lost the winter jacket. again,  because, he does not wear the winter jacket, but carries the winter jacket and leaves the winter jacket wherever he has been with the winter jacket.  BAHHHHHH!!  Winter jacket I hate you!  Mimi prides herself on being the family finder.  she really does find all of our lost stuff.  Mimi came home from bball practice last night and had found luke’s jacket left from his saturday game.  Good job mimi!!

so, two kids and a dog on antibiotics.

the dog’s strep test takes 10 days (ugh!) so I came home, and impatiently decided to start her on my prescription for strep that didn’t work on me from  about a month ago.  I wrapped it in cheese and will continue her on it until it’s gone.  I feel like she’s got it…I know it’s crazy.

gigi will need tonsils out if this round does not wipe it out.

We need some serious wiping out happening over here

 

7 Responses to “wiping out our strep”

  1. teamvandervelde March 5, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    One of my favorite lines that one of your kids said to you years ago is, “Mom, you’re a good wiper.” You got this sis!

  2. Laurel March 5, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    Prayers for you. My sister’s family (7 kids, 8 in July) had lice for months–we called the place The Louse House. Eventually, the last little critter was dead and so I will pray that the lingering, microscopic bacteria leaves the Jones’s alone! I was so glad to read your updates.

  3. Sherri March 5, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    Oh my! I hope you are all better SOON. Laughing at the Winter Coat :):) I totally understand! It’s so good to hear stories that we connect with. Blessings to your wonderful family.

  4. godsizedliving March 6, 2013 at 6:20 am #

    YES! You are a good wiper!!!
    And, I LOVE Jonah’s igloo—good job you crazy digger boy!! Love you all.

  5. kjomo March 6, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    I feel so bad for your children, esp. when I see the girls lying down and looking miserable. I know some folks won’t agree, but really (IMO) everyone should be on antibiotics. It’s a nasty bug that lies hidden in some folks. And, forget those z-packs. You almost always have to re-treated with a stronger drug.
    But, I’m going to do some pleading to The Great Physician on behalf of ALL living beings in the Jones Family! Feel better soon.
    Hopefully we’ll see a wonderful Birthday Celebration for Sweet GiGi and Zinnia! Love to All! ~ Jo

  6. Jennifer Smith March 6, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    I wish I could come help you clean all those germs away. Don’t hesitate to ask for help! You need/deserve it!!!

  7. gospelnomad March 7, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    I hope you all get better soon!! Props on that awesome igloo! I miss Wheaton winters. So much snow!

Leave a Reply

