gigi’s 11 today

7 Mar

We’ve got a birthday here today, Gigi Jones, born 11 years ago, my baby girl.IMG_3500

HaPpY BiRtHdAy GiG!!!

This girl is the smile in my morning, the energy in my afternoon and my snuggler at night.

Thank you Lord for the gift of Gigi.

I used to think that she would forever be the lone sister in our clan, the last little princess.IMG_3506

BUT GOD~  Yes, He chose to better us via adoption, and now miss G is one of our 2 magnificent middles! ( gigi and Luke are twinned by adoption.  But I had a praise this morning.  Luke said, “mom if gigi is 11 today then I am NOT 11, I think I’m 10” more on changing adopted kids birth years later!)

Cinnamon rolls for bfast, two gifts opened before heading off to homeschool coop day

a pan of homemade cupcakes in hand to shareIMG_3481

new scarf around her neck,

new shiny sperry’s,

Ah,

Gigi.

I wish you all could know her.

I’m home making up her choice dinner:

Beef Brisket, potatoes, salad and marble bday cake.

too pretty to frost, but I did.

too pretty to frost, but I did.

We are heading out to pick out a new violin cuz miss g is growing and growing (i can’t say like a weed! i hate weeds!)IMG_3491

We went in to purchase a 3/4 size but realized, Gigi is now a full violin player!

We went in to purchase a 3/4 size but realized, Gigi is now a full violin player!

Sunday we get her peeps together for iceskating and and out to eat.

then, tomorrow is zinnia’s special day!  I’m so thankful that Zinnia gets excited about store bought ice cream cake and take-out chinese.

i love the look on zinnia's face

i love the look on zinnia’s face

I remember when we were debating adopting Zinnia, our add on.  Lainee was ours and we were so excited, then saw her little friend with the same special need…

praying and talking about all the pros and cons.IMG_3512

I’m ashamed to say that for me one of the cons was “her birthday is one day after gigi’s and that would be weird”.

really.  It was an issue for me.  I feel sick thinking that I could ever let something like that come into play when deciding to adopt a child.  but it did.

I remember going over it with gigi, “well, honey, her birthday would be right after yours, that might be hard….” (puke)

and now? HELLO!

IT IS SO FUN!IMG_3480

THis year gigi said, “mom, for our birthdays can you drop us off at the college icecream shop and let me treat Zinnia alone to icecream????”

Oh, i’m actually tearing up thinking about it.  It’s so sweet.IMG_3445

Don’t let worldly fears get in your way if you are contemplating adopting.  It’s God’s thing and He will make those fears into something wonderful.

I can almost hear him whisper, “see??  I told you to trust me!  My way is best!  isn’t this great????”

Yes, Lord.  You are great.

Thank you.

5 Responses to “gigi’s 11 today”

  1. kristi March 7, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    I LOVE LOVVE following your blog!!!i love the love! keep on! Its straight from the Father!
    zekes sister

  2. Carolyn March 7, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Beautiful, Laura! I’m so glad we know Gigi! She is a treasure. What fun pictures and a wonderful day! Hope everyone is feeling better.

  3. sasha March 8, 2013 at 6:22 am #

    Happy Birthday sweet Gigi! This was such a beautiful post, such a great reminder to trust the Lord with our fears! He is so good!!!!

  4. Sonia March 8, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Precious!! Just PRECIOUS!! Happy birthday Gigi!!!

  5. kjomo March 9, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    Happy Birthday, Lovely GiGi! Your spirit reaches through the screen and captures my heart. I know how proud your parents are, to call you Daughter, but Our Heavenly Father must smile at the wonderful young woman you are growing to be! You are truly a Princess… Hugs!

Leave a Reply

