Gotcha Day 2013~ Two years home

30 Mar

May I not be upset over details!

There is really only one thing worth being concerned about.

Like Mary, may I discover the good part that won’t be taken away from me.

(Luke 10:41-42)

It’s been 2 years (yesterday) since Zinnia and Lainee have been Jones girls.

my first seconds with my girls

my first seconds with my girls~ down on their level.  I greeted them saying their Chinese names, “Ni Hao Li Ying!  Ni Hao Guang Zhen.  I placed my hand on my chest and said, “mama”.  Zinnia said, “mama! mama!” hugged me.  Lainee said very low and raspy, “mama, baba”.  They looked at our older four children and quickly both asked the orphanage worker, “where’s the other sister who’s chinese???(mimi had stayed home with Grandma and Grandpa)”.

God bless Lainee, my very defensive, very tough, very scared little lamb.  What an amazing transformation has taken place.  Jesus.    Thank you.

God bless Lainee, my very defensive, very tough, very scared little lamb. What an amazing transformation has taken place. Jesus. Thank you.

best friends now sisters.  praise God.

best friends now sisters. praise God.

Renamed

Chosen

Cared for and Loved

Even in the very difficult first months.

The gospel of chris Jesus came alive to me when we brought them in.

This photo was taken the day we visited their orphanage and walked out, forever.  The girls were skipping, holding hands, never looking back.  They have such a special relationship.  Adding Zinnia was so scary to me.  I am so thankful that Jesus pushed us forward.  God always knows what is best.  We must trust and follow him.

This photo was taken the day we visited their orphanage and walked out, forever. The girls were skipping, holding hands, never looking back. They have such a special relationship. Adding Zinnia was so scary to me. I am so thankful that Jesus pushed us forward. God always knows what is best. We must trust and follow him.

He

Renamed me

Chose me

Cared for and loved me

even when I am difficult.

The night before the girls’ “gotcha day”  we gathered the big kids around in the living room.  We sat quietly for a moment, remembering two years ago, the eve of first meeting the girls in China.

All I could say was, “Jesus”, “Jesus”.  It was him who planted the idea, it was him who gave us the courage to move forward, It was him who helped us endure the beginning adjustment.  “Jesus”.

An hour earlier I had tucked the little girls into their beds.

Zinnia had big eyes, something to talk to mom about.

Earlier that evening someone in our family had damaged something that was fairly expensive to replace.  (The training seems like drudging thru mud at times with this one.)  Dad had made the announcement to all, but really for one, that this was “big money” that we must be careful etc.  Zinnia did no damage.

“Mommy, does daddy have to pay big money for a new one?”  Zinnia wondered to me.

“Yes, he does.”

“Well, I thinking, I have money from my birthday and Christmas that I don’t ever spend.  I think God is wanting me to give that money to dad.”

“oh, Zinnia that’s so thoughtful, it’s okay.  Dad can pay for  a new one.”

Then she said words that took my breath away and made me wonder if they were prophetic.

“Mom!  I can do that, I can give Dad all my money because guess what!?!?!”

“What Zinnie?”

“I’m going to HEAVEN!!  And it’s no problem because in heaven you don’t need any money!  So, we shouldn’t worry about money and save it for ourselves here on Earth because Heaven is our real home.”

“oh, Zinnia, RIGHT!  RIGHT! you are like JEsus’ friend MARY!”

“Mommy,” she said crying lightly, “please please pray for the people in China.  Please pray that God would send a Christian to Long Gang (orphanage) to tell everyone about God and Heaven.  IF you did not adopt me I would still not know!!!!  Thank you for coming to adopt me!!!”

This is reality.  The orphan crisis is real.  There are real souls who deserve a family.

this sloppy note book page is hung on my fridge.  The children see it everyday and take it very seriously.  I call it "our main thing".

this sloppy note book page is hung on my fridge. The children see it everyday and take it very seriously, some more then others! I call it “our main thing”.

Zinnia doing her "helping mom" job at dinner time

Zinnia doing her “helping mom” job at dinner time

Good Job Zinnia.  These girls are thriving in a family.

Good Job Zinnia. These girls are thriving in a family.

they work so hard in school.

they work so hard in school.

precious, precious lainee.  This was taken at a nursing home in town.  Her class went to sing Easter songs to some residents.

precious, precious lainee. This was taken at a nursing home in town. Her class went to sing Easter songs to some residents.

Lainee is right in the center, the tiniest little noodle in her class.  God bless her.  I. WAS. SOBBING.  "Bless the Lord O my soul..." it was precious.  Her teacher said, "We are here because of Jesus!!"  Lainee and I walked over to a very elderly asian woman.  It was precious to here her talk to Lainee.  She said, "are you adopted then?"  and Lainee is always so proud and excited to say, "yes!!  I was born in china!"

Lainee is right in the center, the tiniest little noodle in her class. God bless her. I. WAS. SOBBING. “Bless the Lord O my soul…” it was precious. Her teacher said, “We are here because of Jesus!!” Lainee and I walked over to a very elderly asian woman. It was precious to here her talk to Lainee. She said, “are you adopted then?” and Lainee is always so proud and excited to say, “yes!! I was born in china!”

I shared Zinnia’s words with the big kids and Chris as we opened God’s word and prayed, asking God to help us focus on the important things.

Luke walked in right before we prayed.  The talk amongst the big kids was adopting another child.  Luke said nothing and I wondered if he understood the word, “adopt”.  He sat quietly while we went on to share prayers requests.

Then, he quietly and seriously said, “if we adopt again it should be 2 from Ethiopia.  It should be my brother and my sister.”

Reality.

We have so much to give here in America.  Food, schools, clothing, love, family and JESUS.  It is so good for our families to stretch and pull someone in, to love the lost ones.

I don’t know many details about the brother and sister that Luke prays for and talks about.  I’m expecting to learn more as his vocabulary increases.?!?

On our trip to Colorado I loved to hear people ask Luke, “where are you from ?” (his accent is very pronounced, it’s obvious he’s not been here long!) It made my heart skip a beat to hear him say, “Chicago”.  His new home.  These kids are brave.

The family packed up and Chris began the drive home to Chicago yesterday.  I cried as they pulled away.

As we were organizing things before loading up the van, children were grabbing, talking, craziness, I said, “OK!  THis is complete CHAOS!”

Christopher said something so funny, I keep smiling about it.

“mom, this chaos is about to be pressed in and confined to a vehicle the size of this dining room table for a drive across the country!”

We cannot imagine our family without these adopted children.  Lainee and Zinnia especially as we remember this week our China trip 2 years ago.

Thank you Lord, you are good.

Happy Easter tomorrow everyone!

two little rascals.  Day 2 in China.  They were very brave.  Ha! WE were brave!

Our two little rascals. Day 2 in China. They were very brave but, Ha! WE were brave too!

5 Responses to “Gotcha Day 2013~ Two years home”

  1. smurf1154 March 30, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

    i love love love your blog. thank you for being you; you are precious!!!!! your writing blesses me …..

    in Him, jan (mom to 8, soon 9 :)

  2. sasha March 31, 2013 at 6:54 am #

    So thankful you and Chris made the LEAP of faith for the girls! I remember the days before you left, headaches, fear etc… It so amazing to see how well they are doing NOW! God is Faithful! He never abandons us! This post is such a beautiful reminder of that.
    Your girls and the new Wilson kids almost have the same “gotcha date”! I think there have been 9 children that have come home from our friends since Lainee and Zinnia! Praise the Lord! Can’t wait to return to airport for another adoption!!
    Who is next?????

  3. godsizedliving April 1, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    GREAT post. So thankful you got-those girls!! a living, breathing picture of the gospel. I love Zinnia’s sweet heart and wanting to share Jesus to those in China. Thank you for your example. love you

  4. lindsay April 1, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

    Hi Laura, I read your blog often and just spent the week with Elizabeth who talked about your beautiful family all week. My husband and I have just begun the process of adopting 2 children from Ethiopia. Thank-you for sharing on the other side of adoption…your blog is such an encouragement!

  5. Carrie April 2, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    So thankful for your heart and the heart of your children too, to God be the Glory!

Leave a Reply

