1 Jun

God is our refuge and Strength,

an ever present help in trouble

therefore we will not fear

Psalm 46

Pray with us for Lainee GraceIMG_4206 IMG_4199

Zinnia woke us up early this morning telling us that Lainee was shaking in her bed

She was unresponsive, stiff, shaking

we know now it was a seizure.

It was hands down the scariest thing I have ever had happen to me.

Her blood sugar had dipped to a 4 and after a scary couple of hours in the ER lainee was admitted to

the PICU at cdh.

We are still waiting to find out what has caused her blood  sugar to drop so low and what is happening.

She is still not stable (blood sugar), getting sugar all night.  She’s breathing fine.

We are praying for answers.  She has slept all day, only opening her eyes to stare briefly and mumble.

She knows who I am and where she is but isn’t talking.

Many tests were run today and we anticipate getting answers tomorrow, we  meet with the endocrinologist tomorrow.I want her to wake up tomorrow and be back to her old silly self.

Lots of tears and prayers.

God knows.  I’m hopeful she will perk up tomorrow.

I’m exhausted and home with the children now while Chris will spend the night with Lainee.

I’ll update when I know more.  probably tomorrow afternoon

thank you for the emails today and texts.

God is so faithful and I felt Him with us all day.IMG_4210

15 Responses to “”

  1. Beth June 1, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    We are praying!

  2. joy portis June 1, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    We are praying Laura!!!

  3. smurf1154 June 1, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    oh sweet cyber friend…. may God give you peace beyond your ability. takes me back to december 20, 2002 when my (then) 3.5 year old (he is now almost 15) had 9 grand mal seizures in one day with no known reason. my life changed on a dime that day. thomas has been completely fine since that day, but i understand the fear and am praying against it. my sister had just finished radiation treatment and called me at the hospital to tell me to read deuteronomy 31:8 as that helped her through treatment. i had left in the ambulance with no glasses or contacts and couldn’t read the Bible the hospital had in the drawer. i asked a precious nurse to read it to me and she did. and then she did something i will never forget. she went and printed it off in large letters and hung it over T’s bed. it has been my life verse ever since :). “The LORD himself goes before you; He will not leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid, nor dismayed.” I literally pictured Jesus walking in front of the gurney as they took thomas from test to test. HE was right there with us and i credit Him with the peace i felt. love you laura and promise to pray for zinnia (my absolute favorite flower :).

  4. smurf1154 June 1, 2013 at 10:23 pm #

    just reread your post with my son thomas :) and then realized it is lainee, not zinnia (but it is still my favorite flower :) praying for you and lainee ….

  5. Carolyn June 1, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

    Will be praying!!!!

  6. Shanda June 2, 2013 at 5:29 am #

    Praying for your sweet family.

  7. kjomo June 2, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    Oh, I love that little girl! My heart hurts when I look at the photos. I have been praying and will continue to do so. Love you, sweet friend!

  8. Kristin Gustafson June 2, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    Oh Laura … Sigh … I read this first thing this morning and prayed … and cried a mama’s tears . Lainee holds a very special raspy voiced place in the hearts of the Gustafson family. She is such a light and a joy ! As I was praying, I recalled the passage in Esther that urged Esther on in her “mission”.

    ” And who knows but that you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this and for this very occasion? ” Esther 4:14b

    Loving you all through prayer … for healing of Lainee’s body and healing surrounding the sight of her having a seizure … for both you and sweet Zinnia .

  9. Wendy June 2, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Praying for you Laura and for Lainee. Hope they find the answers soon and she is back to her old self.

  10. Amy storm June 2, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    Praying for your family. Xoxo

  11. Cristie June 2, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    We have been praying for Lainee. We love her so.
    I have called you by name and you are mine. Isaiah 43:1
    With Much Love.

  12. Margaret June 2, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Praying for you all!

  13. Tobi Wright June 2, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    Laura, I’m praying for your sweet girl!

  14. carlene ellerman June 2, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    Praying for God’s peace and care.

  15. Lindsay June 2, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    Praying for Lainee and your family.

Leave a Reply

