Guess What?!?!

7 Jun

While I type this morning,

Lainee Grace is sitting on the floor of her hospital room

Painting my toe nails.

The doctors have just come in to discuss the plan.

And when the plan was laid out they finished with the words,

“so, Lainee, this afternoon you can pack everything up and head home…”

We are glad!

photos from yesterdayIMG_4332 IMG_4336 IMG_4341 IMG_4330 IMG_4328 IMG_4324 IMG_4326 IMG_4313 IMG_4314 IMG_4315 IMG_4311 IMG_4301 IMG_4305 IMG_4307 IMG_4288

lainee and I learned how to use the accu-check ( blood sugar prick-thing) they will send us home with. She’s decided she wants to be a nurse, she can do it her self!  IMG_4297

IMG_4290So, Lainee’s got a long road ahead of her.  We are trusting that her Maker knows what is best for Lainee and our family.  Genetic metabolic testing will come back in the next 6-8 weeks,  we think the answer is in that direction.  So in the meantime, the different doctors for each organ system involved have trained us how to look for another episode of shut down and have given her meds to take each day.  We pray her liver and kidneys heal, but she is stable for now.  I will be keeping a VERY close eye on her all summer.  She will leave with labs that need to be done at home via a home nurse which is super convenient, I hope.

God has been faithful through the whole ordeal.  He has prepared us for this and called us to care for Lainee, to serve Lainee while she is here in our family.  It is not a burden in any way, it is a very very special honor, one that we could have easily missed.  Adopting Lainee into our family 2 years ago was a major step of obedience and faith for us.  We did not feel equipped, we felt scared and overwhelmed and spread thin already, often we were not even excited.  But, God.  God chose us because He is gracious.  We did not deserve this honor.  He has been very specific in choosing our family, in calling us to adoption.  It did not always feel exciting and fun and cute.  NO.  Each of our last 3 adoptions (older kids, special needs) were acts of obedience, walking forward in something that often did not make sense to us, or often people around us, it was scary.  

But, as we love these children and die to our own needs or wants and comforts, serving them, we realize that it is not US who are blessing them, but it is God blessing us with a joy that transcends any kind of earthly material joy or happiness.

That’s where I wanna hang out.  In the hard, in the uncomfortable, in the desperate, in the ugly, because it’s in those places that Jesus meets us, takes hold of my hand and speaks very personally to me through his word. So when the road turns annoying or difficult, it’s okay because HE GOES BEFORE US IN LOVE.  And we trust him.

Just last week I felt so overwhelmed, before all of this happened.  I said to a friend, “I hate carrying this cross!  I wanna just do life easy!”   I’m reminded by this nearly tragic incident with Lainee that we can do all things through Christ who enables us.  I’m reminded that this is NOT our HOME.  We long for a heavenly home where no more tears, or diseases, or learning disabilities, or fighting kids, or embarrassing situations will mark our days.  Only Jesus.  Heaven is our Hope.

Lainee has spotted the Amer*can Girl Doll store out her window…

She’s never been there before.  So,

You can be sure, mom and Lainee will be there this evening!!

Your love for my family has OVERWHELMED us.

Thank you so much.  The gifts you brought to our house are all here with her in the hospital.  Thank you for each one.  lainee says thank you to all the kids who have emailed and drawn pictures and sent her videos.  Praise God.

Ps 100:2  SERVE the LORD with gladness!!!

1Tim. 1:12~  “I thank Him who has given me strength, Christ Jesus our LORD, because he judged me faithful appointing me to his service..”  (even though so unworthy)

Leaning on the EVERLASTING arms

Laura ( and Lainee)

getting un hooked!!! yay

getting un hooked!!! yay

16 Responses to “Guess What?!?!”

  1. Judy Stoner June 7, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    Yay! Yay! Yay! Lainee we are so happy for you! You look great and you did a great job on Mommy’s toenails, too! Annie asked me to tell you she hopes you can play together this summer!

  2. Dardi June 7, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Beautiful, truth-filled post…Yay for going home!!!

  3. Carrie June 7, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    B.E.A.U.T.I.F.U.L!

  4. godsizedliving June 7, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    Thank you Lord!! Lainee Grace, we praise God for you. He loves you and is so good to you. You are right, He is your STRENGTH. We love the verse you wrote. We love you!! Uncle Ed and Auntie Sarah

  5. Jenny Chang June 7, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    Laura, Tho I don’t know you, I do know your brother and sister-in-law (John & Kari) and just wanted to tell you how much I appreciate reading your updates, hearing about Lainee, and catching a glimpse into your honest reality. Each time I read an update, I fight back the tears bc I can only imagine how much your mother’s heart hurts to see your little one in such pain. God bless you and your family for your obedience to a much deserved call. PS – my son Jacob played on Luke’s basketball team this past winter. ALL of your children (bio and adopted) are BEAUTIFUL!!!

  6. kristi bowman June 7, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    Zekes sister here.. been following along and praying the way with you.. thanking Jesus for lainees life every day.. GOD IS SO AMAZING AND SHOWING HIMSELF, not impossible,, BUT ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE THRU YOU >> FOR HE IS FOR US>>>> WE BELIEVE WITH YOU.. GOD HAS CHOSEN YOU AND CALLED YOU AND LOVED YOU THROUGH ALLL THINGS THUS FAR>. he will carry you on.. much love.. xoxxo
    Kristi

  7. margie June 7, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    This is the best post. I love everything you shared! Convicting and just so good! Thank you for how you share your heart. I learn so much.

  8. susan jahns June 7, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Chris and Laura,

    We are so excited Lainee (and YOU!) are getting to come home! Praise the Lord from whom all blessings flow!
    Thank you for not only speaking and writing of the realities of following Jesus—thank you for LIVING it! He is faithful and does honor obedience.
    We continue to pray for Lainee and your family. God’s plans are good, filled with hope and for His glory!
    Blessings,
    Randy and Susan Jahns

  9. Doug Jones June 7, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    AMEN! AMEN! AMEN! AMEN! AMEN! AMEN! AMEN!

    I just cried and cried reading you post. I praise the Lord for how He is working in and through you guys. He is such an example of what He can do with his children who love Him and obey Him and follow Him by faith.

    The cross is heavy and painful. There is so little joy in the moment, but in the end HIS cross turns into a CROWN, which we will lay down at HIS feet in worship and praise when we see Him face to face.

  10. Wendy June 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    So happy she is going home…and getting to visit the American Girl Store. How absolutely wonderful! Praise the Lord.

  11. Laurel June 7, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    I second those AMENs. Lainee, you are such a brave girl and a lovely child of God. To the Jones family: your daily testimony is encouraging to me and so many others. Hugs to you Laura from your old roomie.

  12. jean Mulvahill June 7, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    Praise GOD!! Lainee and Laura are going HOME!! Praise GOD Lainee is stable!!
    So thankful, just exhaling now! Whew!

    You say it so perfectly- I hear HIM calling us, I see the signs all over. HE is directing us and our hearts are obedient BUT yes sometimes I want to just do easy too…
    Sometimes I have not been excited for the road ahead of us… okay, more than sometimes…
    BUT we take HIS hand, close our eyes and just keep putting one foot in front of the other. HE has never failed us. HE has always been there and HE never leaves us… so thankful! Couldn’t do this alone…

  13. kristi bowman June 8, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    So happy for you! And Laura, I loved your thoughts in this post! It’s so easy for me to forget…to forget the miracle of adoption…to forget how God brought us to this point…to forget the great things He has done in our lives through our child. Thank you for reminding me today. Indeed, it IS an honor. We are blessed. We are loved. We are thankful. Bless you for being HIS voice to me today!

  14. Steven Jones June 9, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    I called, but this works too. I am very thankful for you guys, and it broke my heart to hear about Lainee last week. There was nothing I could do for you, other than pray so that’s what I and so many others did. Thank the Lord for giving her another chance at life. She is toooooo young to even begin to see the end here, but that is not our choice either. Lainee stole the hearts of Jennifer and her children the 2 days we were in Jackson. I believe there is much more in her life to come, and that this experience will soon be a blessing as she will be able to help others in similar situations. I love you guys and I will continue to pray for the health of everyone.

  15. Melissa Allison June 9, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    Praise God!!! What a wonderful report. Teagan has been asking everyday how Lainee is doing and we have been praying. We will continue to pray for answers :)

  16. Elaine Garrett June 9, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Dear Laura,

    So glad that you are at home and a complete family again. Heard that Lainee was in church today……AMAZING!! Wow, what troughs and peaks a week can bring!! Praying that you will be able to physically and emotionally REST in the coming days.

    Psalm 62:5-8

    5 Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
    my hope comes from him.
    6 Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
    he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
    7 My salvation and my honor depend on God;
    he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
    8 Trust in him at all times, you people;
    pour out your hearts to him,
    for God is our refuge.

    Love to you, Lainee, and the Jones family. With continued prayers,

    Elaine, for us all xx

Leave a Reply

