photo update

30 Jul

time for a photo update!

we do not have any answers on Lainee and are still in close contact with Children’s in chicago each week concerning labs etc. thanks for checking in and asking after her

she’s doing well (and is well watched)

We’ve been in Michigan for much of the summer

doing….

mom and mimi at the beach

mom and mimi at the beach.  God bless Mimi!  This photo is extra special to me.

little girl cousins on the 4th of July

little girl cousins on the 4th of July

IMG_4819

Luke used his job money to buy a fishing pole~ I'm finally figuring out that if I make him use his own money the item is less likely to break.  DUH

Luke used his job money to buy a fishing pole~ I’m finally figuring out that if I make him use his own money the item is less likely to break. DUH

luke fishing

luke fishing

 

lainee recording Noah's tennis match.

lainee recording Noah’s tennis match.

 

some good tennis happening this summer!

some good tennis happening this summer! Christopher and JOnah with their trophies

 

a pie I made out of raspberries that zinnia and luke picked outside around our lake house

a pie I made out of raspberries that zinnia and luke picked outside around our lake house

 

done a few big puzzles this summer.  Jonah, mom and lainee are the puzzle people

done a few big puzzles this summer. Jonah, mom and lainee are the main puzzle people

gigi on her date with dad

gigi on her date with dad

chris and I on a double date with these two....

chris and I on a double date with these two….

lainee and zinnia

lainee and zinnia

been doin' plenty of nailpolish around here this summer

been doin’ plenty o’ nailpolish around here this summer

and reading lots of books

and reading lots of books

trips for frozen yogurt

trips for frozen yogurt

lots of fun with cousins

lots of fun with cousins

 

IMG_4851

hospital trips

hospital trips

sunblock~  good job lainee!

sunblock~ good job lainee!

 

icecream night

icecream night

ollie and christopher in Italy!

ollie and christopher in Italy!

noah and uncle doug in tennessee

noah and uncle doug in tennessee

 

luke fishing at grandpa and grandma's tennessee pond

luke fishing at grandpa and grandma’s tennessee pond

noah and jonah, the two goof balls who won the neighborhood egg toss contest

noah and jonah, the two goof balls who won the neighborhood egg toss contest

 

some of the boy cousins in front of their amazing castle!

some of the boy cousins in front of their amazing castle!

Luke this morning in the wet suit.  I took him tubing , it sure was chilly today on the water!

Luke this morning in the wet suit. I took him tubing , it sure was chilly today on the water!

No Noah!

No Noah!

It’s been kind of a challenging summer, as far as summers go.  I want to remember that these children are all gifts, that I should feel honored to get to see God heal their little lives.  But, it’s hard, and we’ve got plenty of issues rolling around with this group.  I want to stay strong and focused on Christ, not the issues that I’m faced with.

I can almost hear His voice coaching me on, “keep running, runner!!! keep running, runner!”

Run on!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “photo update”

  1. Doug Jones July 31, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    I love the pictures. What an awesome group of kids (great family). we love you and miss you. Laura, you are definitely hearing from the Lord. Keep running and persevering. He is faithful to give you and chris the strength to guide, lead, and raise these “little ones” up in the Lord Jesus. He is faithful.

    we love you and pray for you all.

    Blessings
    Doug

  2. Tobi Wright August 1, 2013 at 9:08 am #

    Hey Friend! I loved reading your update. Your perspective always challenges me and makes me take a good look at my own. I will pray for your family this morning. We brought Isaac Adugna home 9 weeks ago. We’ve been on an emotional rollercoaster, seeing great things and experiencing hard things. He is grieving hard losses and all the changes must be more overwhelming than he can handle. I am (to him) in one moment, a “good good mom” and in another, “no good mom.” I am trying not to allow his moods to dictate my moods. We’ve had full blown tantrums. We’ve had sweet bedtimes of singing in Amharic and Sidamino and English. Throw in the multiple house showings and visits to check on the house we are building, it’s more than a little crazy around here. My bios are somewhat neglected and we are all weary. But God is sustaining us and our hope is in Him. Please pray for me as I am finally looking into homeschooling Isaac and I am clueless. I’m meeting with a friend soon & hoping for good direction in how to get started. I will focus on reading, math and English. At this point he is saying “no school Mom” so would you also pray that he will desire to learn from me? Our twins are starting High School, we have one Senior and our oldest is leaving for college! Is Isaac going to think Jordan is “aging out” and getting sent away? Limited English challenge leads to confusing ideas sometimes. Oy!

  3. julie August 7, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    Is it me, or do Uncle Doug and your son look like twins?! There are a few years between these twins, but wow!! Thanks for being such an encouragement. I love reading your blog. It helps me cope with my son with adhd, anxiety, and dyslexia…

  4. k August 14, 2013 at 2:45 am #

    It looks like such fun! I wish I could play on the trampoline that’s in crystal clear water…

  5. kristi bowman September 30, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    Praying and TRUSTING ALL IS WELL.>> GOD IS FAITHFUL!
    -Standing AMAZED . love from zekes family

  6. Susan Hofland October 7, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    Laura, I am starting to get a bit worried about you…..nothing posted for two months. Praying God”s blessing on you and your sweet family!

  7. kjomo October 22, 2013 at 7:54 am #

    Dear Jones Family,
    I’m stopping by to tell you that all of you have been in my prayers and on my mind and heart. I hope that this Fall has brought some relief from all of the free time that Simmer brings. Getting back into a routine is always helpful, esp. for children. And, Mom! Hope to read a new post soon. You are missed! Hugs from very cold Minnesota. ~ Jo

  8. Kate November 21, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    Can’t wait for an update, Laura!
    I am praying that all is well.

Leave a Reply

