14 Dec
I made myself stop wrapping gifts at 12:00 last night.  I'm always trying to get ahead, never realizing that it is never possible.  Woke up to a winter wonderland and it hasn't stopped.  I took a snowy run and Chris has taken the kids sledding for the first time this season.  I love it.  Took Christopher out for breakfast.  I already have a lump in my thought when I think of college and he's only a junior :(

I made myself stop wrapping gifts at 12:00 last night. I’m always trying to get ahead, never realizing that it is never possible. Woke up to a winter wonderland and it hasn’t stopped. I took a snowy run and Chris has taken the kids sledding for the first time this season. I love it. Took Christopher out for breakfast. I already have a lump in my thought when I think of college and he’s only a junior :(

Miss Lainee is a miracle, in more ways then one.  I clearly remember the loud, bossy, tough skinned 6 year old girl who came home 2.5 years ago.   She still can be wrong around the edges if she doesn't get enough sleep.  She's also a problem talker at school.  We've got a little behavior chart reward system worked out with her teacher.  I can't remember what happened this week but she came down one morning, having written this note and hugging me with a big, "i'm so sorry mom...."  priceless...

Miss Lainee is a miracle, in more ways then one. I clearly remember the loud, bossy, tough skinned 6 year old girl who came home 2.5 years ago. She still can be a tad rough around the edges if she doesn’t get enough sleep. She’s also a problem talker at school. We’ve got a little behavior chart reward system worked out with her teacher. I can’t remember what happened this week but she came down one morning, having written this note and hugging me with a big, “i’m so sorry mom….” priceless…

never had this before.  You know your busy when your water gets turned off in the middle of dishes...for not paying the bill.  Thankfully I drove and had it turned back on after paying the late bill and 70.00 extra.  ;(

never had this before. You know your busy when your water gets turned off in the middle of dishes…for not paying the bill.I was running around the house trying to figure out what happened!  All the faucets, off!  Frozen?? No.  Found this on my front door.  Thankfully I drove and had it turned back on after paying the late bill and 70.00 extra. ;(

One of Noah's baset ball teams. They won a tournament.  We'll have to remember to put the boy from Sudan against a white back drop next time!

One of Noah’s basket ball teams. They won a tournament. We’ll have to remember to put the boy from Sudan against a white back drop next time!

finishing up the second week of advent.  Sunday's candle is pink.  Zinnia is so excited because it's JOY week, the pink candle is JOY, her middle name.  I meditated on the peace that Jesus can bring all week... trying to WRAP up everything this weekend to prepare my heart to be JOYfilled next week as I help with different parties at school and create good meals and quiet study spaces for my boys who have finals.

finishing up the second week of advent. Sunday’s candle is pink. Zinnia is so excited because it’s JOY week, the pink candle is JOY, her middle name. I meditated on the peace that Jesus can bring all week… trying to WRAP up everything this weekend to prepare my heart to be JOYfilled next week as I help with different parties at school and create good meals and quiet study spaces for my boys who have finals.

at our night time reading time...

at our night time reading time…

IMG_5689

I took these photos with chris’ phone, I don’t why they’re so small…

Luke decided he only like the snow and cold in Colorado when we ski.  He woke up one day, it was 14 and said, "mom, pray for me...I miss Africa...."

Luke decided he only likes the snow and cold in Colorado when we ski. He woke up one day, it was 14 degrees outside and said, “mom, pray for me…I miss Africa….” try wearing your jacket and gloves and a hat!  We’ve decided to NOT say anything this season.  He will figure it out one day.  He has to keep a hat and gloves in his backpack, and carry a jacket when I drop him at school.  (i just don’t want to get in trouble with a phone call home!) 

Don't forget, it's okay to make your kids read their bibles.  At least that's been our philosophy.  I had a discussion with some friends last week about making your kids read their bibles....Make a sign, or just make an announcement , "Hey guys, everyone go read your bible and pray for 15 minutes then we will get the ice-cream out...."  Each of the kids has something different they are using for their Bible time.  I'm excited about some devotional books I purchase for christmas...(duck dynasty....)shhhhhh..... What are your thoughts about kids and bible reading??  what are things you use?  what do have them read?

Don’t forget, it’s okay to make your kids read their bibles. At least that’s been our philosophy. I had a discussion with some friends last week about making your kids read their bibles….Make a sign, or just make an announcement , “Hey guys, everyone go read your bible and pray for 15 minutes then we will get the ice-cream out….” Each of the kids has something different they are using for their Bible time. I’m excited about some devotional books I purchase for christmas…(duck dynasty….)shhhhhh…..
What are your thoughts about kids and bible reading?? what are things you use? what do have them read?

I hope everyone in Chicago land enjoys this beautiful day.

Take deep breaths, sip some cocoa, smile at your kids, lift your eyes above the weekend messes around your house, and take one more day to thank Jesus for the PEACE he brings, peace that the world can not give.

One Response to “”

  1. vengapronto December 14, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    Hi Laura,

    His Peace; there is no substitute. Thank you for writing and allowing me to participate in your experiences. May God give you great peace, stability, joy, endurance, love and trust at this holy season. You are ploughing fertile ground which has never been plowed before. It can be bumpty, tough, exhausting — but He is there; He is not silent; He will never leave you nor forsake you. The harvest is eternal.

    Blessings & love,

    Janet Orme

Leave a Reply

