understanding my role

23 Dec

One of the big boys toasted some waffles to eat dry while dad read the advent book.

I was snuggled up with Zinnia in the red chair.

She whispered in my left ear,

“mommy, whenever I smell the waffles it, it, it, it smells just like the baby milk in China…”

She nestled in a little closer and covered her eyes with her hands.

I rubbed her knee and she when her teary eyes met mine she said quietly,

“Every baby should have a mom, right mommy?”

I could tell strong feelings were being felt, feelings that I can’t begin to relate to.

I decided I couldn’t ask questions because I would interrupt Chris. So,

I whispered words to comfort and reminded her,

“Yes, Zinnia, and I’m so glad that you’re my baby and I’m your mama…”

Though I can’t understand the mysterious, deep feelings that some of my children feel, or hide,

I can understand my role and act obediently;

comfort, stability, encouragement, unconditional love, security, routine.

It’s a blessing to be part of my adopted kid’s journey.

~

We’ve all arrived safely in Michigan, it’s a beautiful winter wonderland.

I’ll post photos and an update soon!

Love to all

~

Laura

3 Responses to “understanding my role”

  1. Karen and Kaity Pindar December 23, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

    Laura, what a moment. Love your beautifl heart and words to Zinnia.

  2. Doug Jones December 23, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    Hey Laura
    I love your posts. Wow! God is using you powerfully. Praying for yall. Have a merry Christmas!!!!!!
    Doug

  3. kristi December 26, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    tears… my heart is broken for her.. JEHOVAH RAPHA COME .. Oh, I can’t understand.. the strong feelings that are surging within her..

Leave a Reply

